Science & Technology : Physics

Core Resources

Additional resources can be found at: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/subjects/physics/default.htm.

Databases for Articles
  • American Institute of Physics Journals
  • arXiv- Index to over 500,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
  • INSPEC- INSPEC is a major source of information for physics, electrical engineering, computer science and information science and technology.
  • IOPScience- IOPscience is an online service for all journal content published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Also includes pre-prints from eprintweb.org (a free service, based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorial and news from IOP community websites.
  • Scopus- Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.

    More Databases for Articles...
Journals
eBooks / Books

Databases for Articles

Databases for Physics
American Institute of Physics Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.aip.org/ojs/service.html
  
American Institute of Physics Journals offers full-text coverage of most AIP journals. Coverage varies according to journal. [more]

arXiv
http://arxiv.org/
  
Index to over 500,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.

INSPEC Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=insz
  
Offers physicists, engineers, computer scientists and information specialists access to international literature in physics, electronics, information technology, computers and electrical engineering. Producer-assigned classification codes, descriptors and identifiers enhance subject access. Newly added fields include chemical and numerical information. From the Institution of Electrical Engineers in the United Kingdom. [more]

Institute of Physics Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.iop.org./EJ/librarians/-assist=subs/
  
Institute of Physics Journals provides access to full-text coverage of approximately twenty journals from the Institute of Physics. [more]

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?SpaceID=10093&BookID=735
  
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology contains data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other key properties. [more]

NASA Astrophysical Data System
http://adswww.harvard.edu
  
NASA Astrophysical Data System is a NASA funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and ArXiv e-prints. [more]

NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=ntis
  
A catalog of publications from the U.S. National Technical Information Service. The premier resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. Various classification systems enhance subject retrieval. Material can also be searched by corporate source, patent number and CAS registry number. Use the ORDER button to request the corresponding fulltext documents. [more]

Scirus
http://www.scirus.com
  
A web search engine optimized for scientific content. Target preprints, scientist or company homepages, patents, or conferences. However, subscriptions or credit card payments are required to view much of the journal content. From Elsevier Scientific Publishing. [more]

Scitopia
http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/
  
Scitopia.org searches the bibliographic records in each partner‘s electronic library (major science and technology disciplines), patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, and Japan Patent Office, and US Government documents on the Department of Energy Information Bridge site.entire electronic libraries of the major science and technology disciplines. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?SpaceID=10093&BookID=736
  
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is broad in scope. It is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. [more]

Journals

Journals for Physics
Browse Journals on Physics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=phys
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Physics
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
  
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog