Health Sciences Library Health Sciences Library MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Health & Medicine : Physical Therapy

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Physical Therapy
ABLEDATA
http://www.abledata.com/
  
Premier source for information on assistive technology.

Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) in Rehabilitation from Queen's University
http://www.rehab.queensu.ca/cats/
  
Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) prepared by students in the School of Rehabilitation, Queen's University in Canada. Each Critically Appraised Topic, or CAT, represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational and physical therapy interventions with an eye toward developing a clinical bottom line.. CATS are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. Browse or search by keyword.

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.otcats.com/topics/index.html
  
Each CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales.

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.pedro.fhs.usyd.edu.au/
  
Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

REHABDATA
http://www.naric.com/research/rehab/
  
Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Physical Therapy
American Physical Therapy Association
https://www.apta.org/
  

Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/
  
A meta listing of Internet subject guides in the health sciences. Guides are grouped by subject and size.

History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Health Related Professions (HRP)
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyhealthrelatedprofessions.htm
  
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries

Medical Breakthroughs reported by Ivanhoe Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
https://search.ivanhoe.com/home/p_home.cfm
  
19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/articles/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

New Cochrane Reviews
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=coch&SEARCH=new.uf.+and+systematic+review.pt.&NEWS=N
  
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Physical Therapy, the Web Space
http://automailer.com/tws/
  

Professional Registration Licensee Search - Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts
https://renew.pr.mo.gov/licensee-search.asp
  
Searchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status.

PT World Links
http://www.rehabworld.com/rwptlink.htm
  

Yahoo subject list of Internet resources in Physical Therapy Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://dir.yahoo.com/Health/Medicine/Physical_Therapy/
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Physical Therapy
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.maheclibrary.org/DirectLink.php?url=http://home.mdconsult.com/das/book/view/1678
  
Jump to fulltext from the table of contents or the index. Resource brought to you by the MAHEC Digital Library. These links take up to a minute to load. Please logout when finished.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog