Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : Philosophy

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases for Philosophy
A & H Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100336350;dbname=AHSearch&screen=advanced;done=referer;FSIP
  

Also Known as: Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Search
A & H Search is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. [more]

Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database
http://www.drze.de/BELIT
  
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en éthique des sciences de la vie et de la santé, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/b/bas
  
Bibliography of Asian Studies is an index to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. [more]

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL
  
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]

InfoTrac Religion and Philosophy Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=SPJ.SP21
  
This collection includes 250 full-text periodicals covering religion and philosophy. Access provided by MOREnet.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.brepolis.net
  
IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

L'Annee Philologique Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
  
L'Annee Philologique covers all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. It covers a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more. [more]

Philosopher's Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=PhilosopherIndex&done=referer
  
This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present. [more]

PORTAL: The British Academy's Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences
http://www.britac.ac.uk/portal/
  
PORTAL covers the whole spectrum of the humanities and social sciences from the history of art to geographical information systems, and from labor history to the indigenous languages of Latin America. [more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
  
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]

Journals

Journals for Philosophy
Browse Journals on Philosophy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=phil
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Philosophy
Oxford Reference Online Premium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/
  
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog