Health & Medicine : Pharmacy
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
- Lexi-Comp Drug Information in UpToDate
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
- National Drug Code Directory
More Databases for Articles...
- Facts and Comparisons
- Drug Information - U. S. FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
- Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
- Pill Identifier from drugs.com
- UMCHC Formulary
More Other Resources Online...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Pharmacy
Drug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]
Epocrates Rx Formulary
Drug reference guide for PDA with formulary information. After installation, you can add an optional formulary, NeedyMeds, to determine if patient financial assistance is available for a particular drug. Epocrates RX available free of charge, Epocrates Essentials available for individual subscription purchase. [more]
LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]
Also Known as: Lexi-Comp Online;lexicomp;
Locate information on a complete range of drug topics, including: pediatric, adult and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation and more. . For educational use only, by faculty, students, and fulltime staff of the University of Missouri – Columbia. [more]
Lexi-Comp Drug Information in UpToDate
Search a drug in UpToDate to view the Lexi-Comp information on drug dosage, uses, interactions, side effects, and more. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
The Merck Index provides authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, including scientific significance, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information and key references in the literature. [more]
A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care.
National Drug Code Directory
Trade name, dosage form, National Drug Code, active ingredients, strength and packaging information for all commercially distributed presciption drugs, as well as a few selected OTC products. From the Food and Drug Administration. [more]
Native American Ethnobotany
A guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlus
Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]
Lists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]
Compare unit and total (including shipping) costs for drugs in the United States and Canada from pharmacies that sell online, via mail order or fax.
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search for drugs and herbals to discover brand names, synonyms, ingredients National Drug Codes (NDCs) and dosage forms. A spell checker is included. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
JournalsJournals for Pharmacy
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Pharmacy
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Pharmacy
Also Known as: destinationrx;destinationrx.com
Also Known as: drugdigest
Produced by the ExpressScripts Corporation, this site provides general information about drugs, vitamins, herbal medicines and their side effects, including the percentage of patients that experience different side effects. A special "Drug Interactions" tool lets you check to see if the drugs you are taking are safely taken together. Compare Drugs shows drugs with similar actions for common conditions such as hypertension, depression, and more. Drug information provided by Gold Standard.
Drug Indentifier from Wall's Medicine and Health Center
Identify prescription and over the counter pills by color, shape, or markings. From Clinical Pharmacology, courtesy of Wall's Medicine and Health Center, Grand Forks, ND.
Drug Information - U. S. FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Access to information about prescription and non-prescription drugs evaluated by the Center.
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
Facts and Comparisons
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
A meta listing of Internet subject guides in the health sciences. Guides are grouped by subject and size.
A page sponsored by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Best evidence for effectiveness, contraindications, preparations and mechanisms of action is provided for many common herbs. Some links to journal articles in the PubMed database are provided.
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
A nonprofit organization that works closely with healthcare practitioners and institutions, regulatory agencies, professional organizations and the pharmaceutical industry to provide education about adverse drug events and their prevention. The Institute provides an independent review of medication errors that have been voluntarily submitted by practitioners to a national Medication Errors Reporting Program (MERP) operated by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USA. Includes a "Textbook Errata" section to correct serious dosing errors which have been misprinted in published literature.
Intelihealth-Drug Resource Center
Search for drug information produced by Johns Hopkins and the USPDI Advice for the Patient.
Also Known as: liver tox
Provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements. Also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury. Registered users can also submit case reports to the registry.
Based on ASHP's Medication Teaching Manual: The Guide to Patient Drug Information.
Mrs. Grieve's A Modern Herbal
Approximately 800 plants with medical uses are described. This volume was first published in 1931,but it still has value today.
Natural Health Encyclopedia (via Personal Health Zone)
The TNP Natural Health Encyclopedia contains extensive science-based information on health conditions, their natural remedies, and drug interactions.
Partnership for Prescription Assistance
A list of pharmaceutical companies which provide free or discounted drugs to needy patients. From the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association.
Also Known as: Pharmacogenomics Knowledge Base
PharmGKB collects, encodes, and disseminates knowledge about the impact of human genetic variations on drug response. It curates primary genotype and phenotype data, annotates gene variants and gene-drug-disease relationships via literature review, and summarizes important PGx genes and drug pathways.
Pill Identifier from drugs.com
Identify prescription and OTC drugs by shape, color and/or text imprint. The content comes from Micromedex and the Physician's Desk Reference. Drugs.com is funded through advertising support.
Pillbox - Prototype Pill Identification System
Identify a pill by color, shape, size, score or ingredients in a visual database. Brought to you and funded by a joint effort of National Libraries of Medicine (NLM) and the FDA. Drug information on every pill links to NLM's Drug Information Portal, Drug Label data links to DailyMed.
Search on a drug to finder lower cost and generic alternatives. Free registration required.
The list of drugs and dosage forms approved for usage at the University of Missouri Columbia Hospitals and Clinics.
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Reviews of Therapies
Indications, dosages, side effects, and scientific reviews of alternative cancer treatments.
VIPPS-Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites
The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy developed VIPPS in 1999 in response to public concern about the safety of pharmacy practices on the Internet. The public is welcome to search for a VIPPS Internet pharmacy that matches their needs.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Pharmacy
Tips for finding books
AHFS Drug Information
A collection of drug monographs prepared for the purpose of disseminating comprehensive, evaluative drug information.
Animal Drugs @ FDA
Also Known as: Green Book; FDA Approved Animal Drug Products
Listing of all FDA approved animal drugs and methods for their use.
Provided as part of Harrison's Online medical textbook from AccessMedicine. Browse or search by drug name to discover indications, dosage, side effects, chemical structure, interactions, contraindications, and precautions for prescription and OTC drugs and personal care products. Pictures are included to aid in drug identification, along with patient information in English and Spanish. Links are also available from Harrison's Online. Please logout when finished.
Formerly known as USP DI: Drug Information for the Health Care Professional, Volume I of USP DI, contains drug use information in technical language for the physician, dentist, pharmacist, nurse, or other health care provider.
Electronic Orange Book : Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Search by active ingredient, proprietary (brand) name, application number and applicant holder.
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
Also Known as: Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
The complete text, including tables, charts and diagrams, of Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. G&G aims to be a working text on the understanding of how and why drugs work as well as a daily reference to rational clinical use of drugs. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 and 2.
Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program
A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Martindale is included in MICROMEDEX. International drug information from the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. Also covers investigational and herbal drugs.
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics
Also Known as: medical letter ; medical letter treatment guidelines
Offers unbiased critical evaluations of drugs, with special emphasis on new drugs, to physicians and other members of the health professions. The Medical Letter is an independent, peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication that accepts no advertising, grants or donations. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs
Also Known as: Teddy Bear Book
Red Book: 2012 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.
USP DI Advice for the Patient
Advice for the Patient, Volume II of USP DI, is written in lay language for use by consumers. Included in MedlinePlus Drug Information.