Health & Medicine : Pediatrics
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
More Databases for Articles...
eBooks / Books
- Clinical Evidence
- Current Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics
- Harriet Lane Handbook, The
- Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics
- OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
- Pediatric Injectable Drugs
- Red Book: 2012 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
- Textbook of Pediatric Care
More eBooks / Books...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Pediatrics
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club
The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, "EBM Reviews", has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Journal Watch Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Journal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library's holdings via the Article Finder. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
JournalsJournals for Pediatrics
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Pediatrics
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Pediatrics
American Academy of Pediatrics Policy
Also Known as: AAP Policy
This resource provides access to clinical guidelines, policy statements, clinical reports and technical reports developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
Boone County Health Report Card
Created by the Chamber of Commerce in 1995; to be updated annually. Contains county statistics on various problem health issues such as access to health care, maternal and child health, mental health, and more.
Site for parents sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
New Cochrane Reviews
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Aggregating data from 11 government agencies and organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean section rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available. From the March of Dimes. View information by state, or for a given metro area.
Virtual Pediatric Hospital, University of Iowa
A collection of textbooks and images for pediatricians and their patients. Especially strong in radiology and imaging. Formerly part of the Virtual Hospital.
Who Named It?
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Pediatrics
Tips for finding books
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics
Also Known as: Current Pediatric Diagnosis & Treatment; Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Pediatrics
Information on the care of children from birth through infancy and adolescence. CPDT emphasizes the clinical aspects of pediatric care while also covering the important underlying principles.
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health
Harriet Lane Handbook, The
Also Known as: harriet lane pediatrics
Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures
Also Known as: emedicine
Clinical knowledge base of more than 7,000 diseases and disorders, formerly known as emedicine. Free registration required. An iPhone download version is available.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics
OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
McKusick's definitive catalog of genetic disorders.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs
Also Known as: Teddy Bear Book
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Red Book: 2012 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
Standard infectious disease reference from the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Diseases. [more]
Skeletal Trauma in Children
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Textbook of Pediatric Care
Comprehensive pediatric textbook published by the American Academy of Pediatrics. [more]
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.