Health & Medicine : Orthopedics
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
- Materials Research Database with METADEX
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
More Databases for Articles...
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Orthopedics
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Also Known as: Materials Science
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
JournalsJournals for Orthopedics
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Orthopedics
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Orthopedics
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery
Also Known as: ABOS
Establishes educational standards for orthopaedic residents and evaluates orthopaedic surgeons.
Karolinska Institute Medical Images
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Orthopedics
Tips for finding books
Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Orthopedics
Provides information on disorders and diseases treated by orthopedic surgeons and related physicians.
DeLee and Drez's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.
Skeletal Trauma in Children
Skeletal Trauma: Basic Science, Management, and Reconstruction
Wheeless' Textbook of Orthopaedics
Browse or search nerves, bones, muscles, joints or body regions for information on normal anatomy, radiology, fractures, diseases, and trauma. Also includes some information on laboratory values of musculoskeletal significance.