Health & Medicine : Oncology
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Other Resources Online
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Oncology
CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information
A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)
From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects.
PDQ Clinical Trial Search Form
Provides a search of the web site for cancer clinical trials by diagnosis, phase, trial type, sponsorship, modality, drug and facility location. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
JournalsJournals for Oncology
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Oncology
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Oncology
About Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
Provides evaluative information on herbal and botanical therapies, including potential benefits/problems, interactions, adverse effects and constituents. Patient summaries are also available. From the Integrative Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Free registration required.
ACOR (Association of Cancer Online Resources Inc.)
Creates, produces, hosts and manages a very large number of specific online resources for cancer patients, caregivers, healthcare professionals and basic research scientists.
AMA Doctor Finder
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.
Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP)
Also Known as: CGAP
The Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) aims to decipher the molecular anatomy of cancer cells. CGAP develops profiles of cancer cells by comparing gene expression in normal, precancerous, and malignant cells from a wide variety of tissues.
Cancer.gov from the National Cancer Institute
Information on cancer screening, staging and treatment for health care professionals and laypeople. Produced by the National Cancer Institute, this is a subset of what is found in PDQ.
Self described as, "Europe's leading cancer information service, with over 4,500 pages of up-to-date cancer information..." This charitable UK organization founded by physician and cancer patient, Dr. Vicky Clement-Jones, has been providing cancer information to cancer patients and their families since 1985. Search for information by cancer type, therapy, or over 1000 Frequently Asked Questions about cancer. All text is reviewed regularly and approved by CancerBACUP's medical editor, a medical oncologist.
Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.
Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor's Guide Global Edition
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.
CPDB - Carcinogenic Potency Data Base
Also Known as: Carcinogenic Potency Database
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
Ellis Fischel Cancer Center
The homepage of the Center located in Columbia, Missouri. Offers a connection to the American Cancer Society's new informational and support site with real audio, the Cancer Survivor's Network.
Hardin MD Meta Directory of Medical and Disease Pictures
Links to medical pictures on the web arranged by disease and medical specialty.
Karolinska Institute Medical Images
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.
Medical Breakthroughs reported by Ivanhoe
19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
National Comprehensive Cancer Network ( NCCN )
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) is a not for profit, tax-exempt corporation that is an alliance of the world's leading cancer centers. The website includes practice guidelines for various types of cancer for health professionals and patients.
Cancer information resources of interest to health professionals and patients.
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Reviews of Therapies
Indications, dosages, side effects, and scientific reviews of alternative cancer treatments.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Oncology
Tips for finding books
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]
A variety of free add-on programs to accompany ePocrates. Currently includes a tumor staging reference, a bone health assessment tool, dosing calculators, and treatment guides for cholesterol, psychiatry, and hypertension. [more]
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Harrison's Manual of Medicine
A concise companion to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Holland and Frei's Cancer Medicine
Search he complete text of the 6th edition of Holland and Frei's Cancer Medicine. A comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to adult and pediatric oncologic care: surgical, radiation, and medical oncology. Includes information on the cancer cell and molecular mechanisms of cancer.
MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.
UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.