Skip to main content
 University of Missouri - Columbia University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries
J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library > Research Guides by Subject > Health & Medicine : Occupational Therapy

Health & Medicine : Occupational Therapy

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases for Occupational Therapy
ABLEDATA
http://www.abledata.com/
  
Premier source for information on assistive technology. [more]

CAIRSS for Music (Computer Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)
http://ucairss.utsa.edu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=First
  
Indexes research literature in music therapy, music education, music psychology and music medicine from 18 core journals, drawing selectively from articles in over 1000 other journals. From the Institute for Music Research. [more]

CINAHL (Ebsco) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=cinahl&defaultdb=cin20
  
Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician's Assistant. Searches can be limited to research articles, nursing journals, etc. [more]

Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) in Rehabilitation from Queen's University
http://www.rehab.queensu.ca/cats/
  
Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) prepared by students in the School of Rehabilitation, Queen's University in Canada. Each Critically Appraised Topic, or CAT, represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational and physical therapy interventions with an eye toward developing a clinical bottom line.. CATS are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. Browse or search by keyword.

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.otcats.com/topics/index.html
  
Each CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales.

OTSearch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://otsearch.aota.org/
  
Maintained by the AOTA, this is the premier source for access to the literature of occupational therapy. Formerly known as OTBibSys. [more]

OTSeeker Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.otseeker.com/search.aspx
  
Search for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. [more]

PsycINFO Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=cinahl&defaultdb=psyh
  
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts
Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]

PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
  
Also Known as: psychological abstracts
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]

Journals

Journals for Occupational Therapy
Browse Journals on Occupational Therapy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=med.occther
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Occupational Therapy
AOTA
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.aota.org/
  
American Occupational Therapy Association

History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Health Related Professions (HRP)
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyhealthrelatedprofessions.htm
  
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

Professional Registration Licensee Search - Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts
https://renew.pr.mo.gov/licensee-search.asp
  
Searchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status.

University of Puget Sound OT Pages
http://www.ups.edu/x3024.xml
  

eBooks / Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog