Health & Medicine : Nursing
Databases for Articles
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Nursing
Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician's Assistant. Searches can be limited to research articles, nursing journals, etc. [more]
ETS TestLink Test Collection Database
Search over 20,000 psychological and educational tests by either test name or by subject. From the Educational Testing Service. If the "Availability" field mentions Tests in Microfiche, the test can be used for research purposes. Copies of the instruments in Tests in Microfiche are available at Ellis Library. [more]
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of Nursing
Twelve award winning "how-to" articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes more than 400 social science and humanities journals covering Central and South Ameria, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. [more]
HSRR - Health Service and Sciences Research Resources
Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]
Also Known as: Learning Express Library
Online test preparation for a variety of tests, including the MCAT, GRE, TOEFL, GED, and many more. Take practice tests on a variety of subjects, including nursing, pararmedic/EMT, and other health careers. Free registration required. Available to MORENET members through an LSTA grant through September 30, 2009. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Also Known as: NDLTD
Lists fulltext links to university electronic theses and dissertations collections from over 150 universities around the world. To view the complete text from the full display, scroll down to the MULTIMEDIA field & click on the URL. [more]
Oxford Dictionary of Nursing
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts
Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]
QOLID Quality of Life Instruments Database
Search for measures of quality of life and patient reported outcomes by disease, pathology, language and population to identify the names of potential measurement tools. A subscription is required to view additional information beyond the title, including sample questions, reviews, etc. [more]
Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods
Videos in Clinical Medicine
Also Known as: nejm videos ; new englande journal of medicine videos
Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices.
JournalsJournals for Nursing
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Nursing
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Nursing
DIPEx: Database of Individual Patient Experiences
Patients describe their illness experiences and the impact of disease on their lives through video and audio clips. The following diseases are currently included: breast, prostate, colorectal and testicular cancer, hypertension, epilepsy, congenital heart disease, and abnormal pap smear, with plans to expand to include 100 diseases. A United Kingdom-based nonprofit site.
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
A meta listing of Internet subject guides in the health sciences. Guides are grouped by subject and size.
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia, School of Nursing
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
Missouri Board of Nursing
Contains contact information, a licensee directory, latest news affecting nurses in practice. Also available is information on requirements for state licensure, including LPN and RN licensure applications, information about license renewal, and transferring licensure to another state.
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
Contains information on the exam Missouri uses for licensing registered nurses: the National Council Licensure Examination for RN's (NCLEX-RN). . Format and content distribution guides are available for the last several years in pdf format.
The site offers a variety of nursing resources including online journals, computer related media, business services and career opportunities. Also provided are opportunities for online CHAT and Virtual Conferencing on a regular basis.
Professional Registration Licensee Search - Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts
Searchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status.
REDCap Shared Library of Data Collection Instruments
Also Known as: redcap tests
A collection of behavioral and clinical survey instruments which can be downloaded and used by MU affiliates since we are a REDCap partner institution. Several popular instruments are included.
Test Prep Review
Free practice tests from a nonprofit group of educators. Choose from MCAT, USMLE, NCLEX and other nursing exams and many more.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library Research Repository
A DSpace digital repository of nursing research grey literature, including preprints; working papers; theses; dissertations; doctorate of nursing practice projects, conference papers; presentations; faculty-created learning objects; data sets; and more. From the Sigma Theta Tau International.
Yahoo List of Nursing Resources on the Internet
Points to Usenet, listservs, and various organizations and resources which have a nursing focus.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Nursing
Tips for finding books
AHFS Drug Information
A collection of drug monographs prepared for the purpose of disseminating comprehensive, evaluative drug information.
A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole.
Formerly known as USP DI: Drug Information for the Health Care Professional, Volume I of USP DI, contains drug use information in technical language for the physician, dentist, pharmacist, nurse, or other health care provider.
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare
Much of the information here was synthesized from two printed books, Guide to culturally competent health care and Transcultural Health Care: A culturally competent approach./a>.
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
The complete text of the current edition of Nettina's Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice.
Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Care
Also Known as: Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Care
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]