Engineering Library & Technology Commons Engineering Library & Technology Commons Gateway MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Engineering : Nuclear Science & Engineering

Core Resources

The DOE Information Bridge (IB) and the DOE Energy Citations Database (ECD) provide access to bibliographic records of worldwide energy research.  The DOE IB provides the full text of DOE sponsored or acquired scientific and technical information from 1995 forward. The Science Accelerator provides access to both. The Engineering Library houses the DOE microfiche collection for documents prior to 1995.

Databases for Articles
Journals

Databases for Articles

Databases for Nuclear Science & Engineering
Additional resources may be found in the Physics Subject Guide.
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, provides full text for over 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, geology, mathematics, mechanical engineering, and physics content going back as far as 1990. [more]

Compendex Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cdxb
  
Compendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Public Technical Reports Collection
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/search/tr/
  
DTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports.

DOE Information Bridge
http://www.osti.gov/bridge/advancedsearch.jsp
  
DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission. [more]

Energy Citations Database
http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/
  
Energy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]

Google Scholar CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htm
  
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]

IEEE Xplore Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/periodicals.jsp
  
IEEE Xplore contains full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, and conference proceedings since 1988. [more]

INIS Database (IAEA)
http://inisdb.iaea.org/
  

INSPEC Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=insz
  
INSPEC is a major source of information for physics, electrical engineering, computer science and information science and technology. [more]

Materials Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa2.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=materials
  
Materials Science brings together databases covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. [more]

NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=ntis
  
NTIS on Ovid (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]

Science Accelerator
http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/
  
The Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Technology Research Database (TRD) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=techresearch-set-c
  

Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.
TRD indexes over 4000 periodicals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is comprised of: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Ceramic Abstracts; Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Computer and Information Systems Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; Earthquake Engineering Abstracts; Electronics and Communications Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Materials Business File; Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts; Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts; WELDASEARCH [more]

Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTUzZSszYjEwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts. [more]

Journals

Journals for Nuclear Science & Engineering
Browse Journals on Nuclear Engineering in MERLIN
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S8/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=(d%3A(nuclear+physics)+or+d%3A(nuclear+engineering))+and+d%3A(periodicals)&searchscope=1&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=Y(d%3A(nuclear+physics)+or+d%3A(nuclear+e
  

SPIN Web Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://scitation.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ALL
  
SPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Nuclear Science & Engineering

 

Energy Science and Technology Virtual Library (DOE) Subject Pathways
http://energyfiles.osti.gov/pathways.html
  
Subject Pathways provide access to diverse resources hosted by a variety of agencies and organizations. Under each subject, select **Searchable Databases** to view additional resources. Subjects covered: biology and medicine; chemistry; energy storage, conversion and utilization; engineering; environmental sciences, safety and health; fission and nuclear technologies; fossil fuels; geosciences; materials science; mathematics, computing and information science; physics; plasma physics and fusion; power transmission, distribution, and plants; and renewable energy.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Nuclear Science & Engineering
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
  
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]

IAEA Reports Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.myilibrary.com/search/my_content.asp
  
Over 600 full-text IAEA reports are available through MyiLibrary. To browse these titles, choose the International Atomic Energy Agency under the heading "Browse books from this publisher" on the main search screen. You may also search only IAEA titles by using the advanced search. In the advanced search, under "Refining your search" choose the International Atomic Energy Agency from the "within a publisher" drop-down box.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/9780471238966/home/
  
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a comprehensive reference source for applied chemical science and industrial technology. [more]

MU NSEI Dissertations and Masters Theses (MERLIN search)
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search/dDissertations%2C+Academic+--+University+of+Missouri-/ddissertations+academic+university+of+missouri+columbia+nuclear+engineering/-2%2C-1%2C0%2CB/exact&FF=ddissertations+academic+university+of+missouri+columbia+nuclear+engineering&1%2C449%2C
  
Search the MERLIN catalog for all MU NSEI dissertations and theses.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog