Health & Medicine : Neurosciences
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Neurosciences
Annual Reviews Online Index
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
JournalsJournals for Neurosciences
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Neurosciences
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Neurosciences
Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.
Cognitive Science Branch, National Library of Medicine
This web page contains databases of courseware, audiovisuals and authoring tools, along with other aids for those developing software for health professions education.
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
HEAL - Health Education Assets Library
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.
Karolinska Institute Medical Images
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.
Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
Neuroscience Information Framewok
Also Known as: NIF
An initiative of the NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research, Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) includes a variety of free web-based neuroscience data, resources and tools. Literature results include citations from PubMed and Textpresso, a system that searches the full text of over 100,000 articles from the main neuroscience journals and indicates which sentences in an article contain your search terms. NIF also includes NeuroLex (Neuroscience Lexicon), a neurosciences vocabulary wiki.
Whole Brain Atlas
Contains atlas of normal structure and blood flow of the brain, top 100 brain structures, abnormal diseases of the brain, and provides tours through some diseases of the brain. This web page is provided by the Harvard Medical School.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Neurosciences
Tips for finding books
Adams & Victor's Principles of Neurology
Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice
Also Known as: Neurology in Clinical Practice
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience
Contains numerous entries, including in-depth essays by experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. Covers the full range of modern neuroscience, from molecular neurobiology to brain architecture and from neurogenetics to neurophilospophy.
Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL block 3.
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
LANGE Educational Library
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper's Biochemistry, Ganong's Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.
UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.