Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : Music

Core Resources

If you are unfamiliar with boolean operators use the links below to learn about them.
You will not be able to search catalogs, databases, and the internet efficiently if you do not understand how to use boolean operators. 

If you do know how to use boolean operators, select the tabs to find basic resources.

Warning: The tab marked JOURNALS is a list, by title, of the online journals available from the Libraries. The list can be searched only by journal title.

Instead, search one of the databases and click  FinditAtMU button   to locate full-text and print articles.

Other Resources Online

Databases for Articles

Databases for Music
A & H Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100336350;dbname=AHSearch&screen=advanced;done=referer;FSIP
  

Also Known as: Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Search
A & H Search is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

Music Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mah
  
Music Index covers more than 40 international music periodicals, listing articles dealing with every aspect of classical and popular music. [more]

Naxos Music Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://Missouri.NaxosMusicLibrary.com
  
Naxos Music Library provides online access to more than 34,000 CDs of western classical music , world music and jazz recordings. Every month approximately 500 new CDs are added. Tracks can be located by searching keyword searching or by browsing alphabetical lists. [more]

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com
  
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera. [more]

RILM Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rih
  
RILM, published by Repertoire International de Literature Musicale, indexes articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, film, and videos. [more]

Journals

Journals for Music
Browse Journals on Music Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=art.music
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Music
Boolean Operators - YouTube Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tm-sDKCnO4
  

Choral Public Domain Library
http://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
  

Also Known as: choral; scores; music

Gutenberg: The Sheet Music Project
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Gutenberg:The_Sheet_Music_Project
  

Paper Assistance - Where to brain storm topics, find articles, etc
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance.htm
  

Tips for searching a database - Construct your search
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance.htm
  

Tips for searching a full-text database
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/Reference/muchow/fulltextsearching.htm
  

VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical Scores
http://www.dlib.indiana.edu/variations/scores/
  

WIMA: Werner Icking Music Archive
http://icking-music-archive.org/
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Music
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659855&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t76&subject=s18
  

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t77&subject=s18
  

Oxford Companion to Music Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t114&subject=s18
  

Who's Who in Opera Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t78&subject=s18
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog