Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : English Language & Literature : Modern & Contemporary Literature

Core Resources

This guide lists resources that focus on literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. Be sure to see the general guide to English Language and Literature for resources that cover all periods.

Databases for Articles

Databases for Modern & Contemporary Literature
The standard academic sources are sometimes a bit slow in taking notice of contemporary authors. The databases listed here are updated frequently and provide access to news and book review sources. Also check the general databases listed in the English Language and Literature subject guide.
Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
  
Academic Search Premier indexes over 8000 journals and magazines, providing full-text of over 4000 publications. Updated frequently and indexing many book review sources, this is a good resource for finding information on contemporary authors. [more]

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?xsid=S003Wvj0XNyMTZyMTApMDAqNDAvNXmm5DFHY96oYqZlNFFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB
  
Primarily a business resource, Factiva provides access to newspapers and other publications from around the world. It is a useful source for book and film reviews, interviews, and literary news from around the world. Coverage is generally late 20th century to the present. [more]

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/
  
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, and various news sources, including TV and radio transcripts and blogs. This is a good source for book and film reviews, interviews, and current literary news from worldwide sources. Coverage is generally from the late 20th century to the present. [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Modern & Contemporary Literature
Electronic Poetry Center
http://epc.buffalo.edu/
  
The EPC provides a wide range of resources centered on digital and contemporary formally innovative poetries, new media writing, and literary programming. In addition to its E-Poetry and Author libraries, the EPC curates lists of links to similar digital and literary projects, related book publishers, literary magazines, and other resources.

eBooks / Books

Biographical Information
Contemporary Novelists Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625358&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Contemporary Poets Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625365&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Major 21st-Century Writers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787694012&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Background Resources and Research Guides
Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/ref_toc/TheColumbiaCompaniontotheTwenti/issues.jsp
  

Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/ref_toc/TheColumbiaDictionaryofModernLi/issues.jsp
  

Modern American Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625372&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t58&subject=s13
  

Books/E-books
Literature Online: Text Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://lion.chadwyck.com/gotoSearchTexts.do;jsessionid=D99987337B34AEA3A50ED08900024C3A?initialise=All
  
Use this general Literature Online text collection to define a searchable body of literary texts by genre, time period, nationality, and author characteristics. Use the databases listed below to browse or search predefined collections of texts.

African-American Poetry of the Twentieth Century Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AfAmC20_po.jsp
  

American Poetry of the Modernist Period, 1899-1945 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmMod_po.jsp
  

American Poetry of the Postwar Period, 1945-1999 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmPost_po.jsp
  

British Poetry of the Modernist Period, 1899-1945 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/BrMod_po.jsp
  

British Poetry of the Postwar Period, 1945-1999 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/BrPost_po.jsp
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog