Research Guides by Subject
Arts & Humanities
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Classics
- Communication
- English Language & Literature
- American Literature
- Medieval Literature
- Modern and Contemporary Literature
- Nineteenth Century Literature
- Renaissance Literature
- Restoration and 18th Century Literature
- Film
- Foreign Language & Literature
- Francophone Languages and Literatures
- Italian Language and Literature
- Lusophone Languages and Literatures
- Spanish Language and Literatures
- History
- Historical Newspapers
- History of the British Empire
- U.S. History (recent)
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religious Studies
- Theatre
Business & Economics
Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Computer Science
- Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Engineering, General
- Environmental Science & Engineering
- Geological & Geotechnical Engineering
- Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering
- Materials Science
- Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
- Nuclear Science & Engineering
- Transportation
Health & Medicine
- Alternative Medicine
- Anatomy
- Anesthesiology
- Biomedical Informatics
- Cardiology/Vascular Disease
- Communicable Diseases
- Communication Disorders
- Consumer Health
- Dermatology
- Education, Medical
- Emergency Medicine
- Endocrinology
- Epidemiology
- Ethics, Medical
- Evidence Based Medicine
- Family Practice
- Gastroenterology
- Genetics
- Gynecology/Obstetrics
- Health Care Management
- Hematology
- History of Medicine
- Medicine
- Microbiology & Immunology
- Nephrology/Urology
- Neurosciences
- Nursing
- Occupational Therapy
- Oncology
- Ophthalmology
- Orthopedics
- Otolaryngology
- Pathology
- Pediatrics
- Pharmacology
- Pharmacy
- Physical Therapy
- Physiology
- Psychiatry
- Public Health
- Pulmonary Disease
- Radiology
- Rheumatology
- Surgery
- Tests/Lab Diagnosis
- Toxicology
- Veterinary Medicine
Journalism
Science & Technology
Social Sciences
Subject Librarians
Kate Anderson
(573) 882-6143
AndersonKat@health.missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Veterinary Medicine
Health & Medicine : Microbiology & Immunology
Core Resources
Databases for ArticlesOther Resources Online
eBooks / Books
Databases for Articles
Databases for Microbiology & Immunology
Annual Reviews Online Index ![]()
http://arjournals.annualreviews.org/search/advanced![]()
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology.
Biological Abstracts ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=b9az![]()
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]
BMC Proceedings ![]()
http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcproc/![]()
Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]
DbGaP Genotype and Phenotype ![]()
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=gap![]()
Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]
Hedgehog ![]()
http://hedgehog.sfsu.edu![]()
Locate resources on the Hedgehog Signaling Pathway, an essential cellular pathway required during embryogenesis of many organisms. Search by gene, disease, clinical trial, patent, and more. Find protocols, tissue cell lines, and reagents used by Hh pathway researchers. Produced by San Francisco State University.
MEDLINE (Ovid) ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd![]()
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals ![]()
http://omia.angis.org.au/![]()
Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney.
PubMed ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract![]()
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com![]()
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to all live journals published by Elsevier; online book series and discontinued journals are not included. The publisher specializes in life science, physical science, and engineering. There are over 1,600 journals included in the trial, of which more than 1,100 are new to this campus. More than 200 of these new journals have impact factors equal to or greater than 2. [more]
Scopus ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com![]()
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
Journals
Journals for Microbiology & ImmunologyTips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Clinical Molecular and Microbiology ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=med.clinical![]()
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources Online
Other Resources Online for Microbiology & Immunology
DPDx Identification and Diagnosis of Parasites of Public Health Concern ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.dpd.cdc.gov/dpdx/Default.htm![]()
Users can browse through concise reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, including an image library and a review of recommended procedures for collecting, shipping, processing, and examining biologic specimens.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/![]()
Also Known as: NCBIDatabases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.
Viral Genotyping Tool ![]()
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/projects/genotyping/formpage.cgi![]()
Viral Genotyping Tool: a web-based program that identifies the genotype (or subtype) of recombinant or non-recombinant viral nucleotide sequences. It works by using BLAST to compare a query sequence to a set of reference sequences for known genotypes. Predefined reference genotypes exist for three major viral pathogens: human immunodeficiency virus 1 (HIV-1), hepatitis C virus (HCV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV), as well as for poliovirus. User-defined reference sequences can be used at the same time. The query sequence is broken into segments for comparison to the reference so that the mosaic organization of recombinant sequences is revealed. The results are displayed graphically using color-coded genotypes. Therefore, the genotype(s) of any portion of the query can quickly be determined.
eBooks / Books
eBooks / Books for Microbiology & ImmunologyTips for finding books
AccessMedicine ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com![]()
Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.
CSH Protocols ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.cshprotocols.org![]()
A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories.
Human Molecular Genetics - NLM ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=hmg.TOC&depth=10![]()
2nd ed, 1999.
Immunobiology : the immune system in health and disease, 5th ed. (Janeway) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=imm.TOC&depth=2![]()
Jawetz, Melnick, & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=6![]()
Lange Case Files ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx![]()
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology
LANGE Educational Library ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/lange.aspx![]()
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper's Biochemistry, Ganong's Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.
Medical Immunology ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/TOC.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=22![]()
Overview of basic immunologic science with a detailed compendium of human immune disorders and their treatments.
Medical Microbiology ![]()
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=mmed.TOC&depth=10![]()
Browse and search the 4th edition of Samuel Baron's textbook, published by the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston. [more]
Middleton's Allergy: Principles and Practice ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.maheclibrary.org/DirectLink.php?url=http://home.mdconsult.com/das/book/view/1183![]()
Molecular Biology of the Cell ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=cell.TOC&depth=10![]()
4th edition.
OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=omim![]()
McKusick's definitive catalog of genetic disorders.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=519![]()
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
- If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
- Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog
