Arts & Humanities : English Language & Literature : Medieval Literature
This guide lists resources that focus on Medieval English language and literature. Be sure to see the guide to English Language and Literature for more general resources.Databases for Articles
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Medieval Literature
Abbreviationes is a searchable database of 50,000 medieval Latin paleographic abbreviations. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library in the Reference area. [more]
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. [more]
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineWeb Gateways
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Netserf: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
"Digital Medievalist is an international web-based Community of Practice for medievalists working with digital media. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects."
Luminarium Anthology of English Literature
Luminarium is a collection of English literary works from the Medieval through the Restoration era, with links to some basic background information.
eBooks / BooksDictionaries
Dictionary of Old English
Also Known as: DOE
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, complementing the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary. The three together provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
Middle English Dictionary
Also Known as: MED
The MED offers a comprehensive analysis of the lexicon and usage of English for the period 1100-1500.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
The Catalogue lists some of the medieval and renaissance manuscripts from the British Library collections. It includes both descriptions and images.
English Short Title Catalogue
The ESTC lists works printed ca. 1473-1800 in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States, Canada, and other territories governed by Britain, regardless of language, and works in English and other British vernaculars printed elsewhere. [more]
Tips for finding books
Anglo-Saxon Poetry, 600-1100
Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Dictionary of Old English Corpus is a complete record of surviving old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. [more]
Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from many diverse collections.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Medieval English Drama, 1280-1500
Medieval English Poetry, 1100-1500
Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]