Health & Medicine : Medicine
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
- PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
More Databases for Articles...
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Medicine
African Index Medicus
Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]
Annual Reviews Online Index
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]
Locate experts in various domains, or search for a particular author and view tables outlining their publications, grant funding, and more. The database was created by datamining PubMed. Registration is required to view some of the data, and is free for academic, noncommercial, and personal use. [more]
Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]
Canadian Medical Association CPG Infobase
Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]
CenterWatch Clinical Trials
An international listing of over 80,000 active clinical trials. Search the database by therapeutic area, disease or geographic location. Also contains information on new drugs and devices approved by the FDA and the Department of Health and Human Services. [more]
A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]
DARE - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
A collection of high quality systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for DARE will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, "EBM Reviews", has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search DARE is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: DARE permits targeting particular kinds of studies, e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, caption and footnotes. [more]
Department of Defense Biomedical Research Database
Indexes Department of Defense funded research, testing and training programs in infectious diseases, biohazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense and related topics. [more]
DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine
Provides guidelines for treatment in acute care settings. Specific for emergency and critical care medicine. Formerly EMERGINDEX. [more]
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club
The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, "EBM Reviews", has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)
Lists the entire text of clinical practice guidelines developed by U.S. government entities such as the Agency for Health Care Policy Research and the National Institutes of Health. [more]
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
The MEDLINE for medical journals published in the Eastern Mediterranean Region, including the countries of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, The Occupied Territories, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, U.A.E., and Yemen Arab Republic. Indexed with MeSH Medical Subject Headings in English and Arabic. From the World Health Organization. [more]
Search 75 prominent Indian medical journals, most of which are not included in MEDLINE. All articles are indexed with MeSH headings. Maintained by the Indian Medlars Centre. [more]
The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords. [more]
Literature Arts and Medicine Database
An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]
Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
MDConsult Images Database
Also Known as: md consult images
Search over 50,000 images from the MDConsult textbook collection. Users may print or download images for their personal, non-commercial use provided that all copyright and other proprietary notices are kept intact.To use images in a poster, publication, or for any other similar use, permission must be requested through the Elsevier Rights Department.
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care.
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)
From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects.
NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool
Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]
A catalog of publications from the U.S. National Technical Information Service. The premier resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. Various classification systems enhance subject retrieval. Material can also be searched by corporate source, patent number and CAS registry number. Use the ORDER button to request the corresponding fulltext documents. [more]
OvidSP Medical Search
Type in a question or topic to see the most relevant results in MEDLINE, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, and Journals@Ovid. [more]
PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican's information & education resource
Synthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library. Please logout when finished.
Also Known as: MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
Provides basic citation information (no abstracts or MeSH indexing terms) for articles currently in the process of being indexed for MEDLINE. Also includes PubMed-only citations which will never be added to MEDLINE on bioethics, population studies, biotechnology, health technology, and health services management. Formerly known as PreMEDLINE. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
UK National Electronic Library for Health NeLH Guidelines Finder
From the United Kingdon National Health Service. Search over 600 UK national guidelines, often with links to the complete text. Developed in collaboration with SEEK, the Sheffield Evidence for Effectiveness and Knowledge. [more]
Videos in Clinical Medicine
Also Known as: nejm videos ; new englande journal of medicine videos
Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices.
JournalsJournals for Medicine
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Medicine
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Medicine
Adam.com Medical Encyclopedia
Browse or search for symptoms in this encyclopedia available via MEDLINEplus.
AHRQ Web M&M: Morbidity and Mortality Rounds on the Web
A forum on patient safety, featuring expert analyses of anonymously submitted medical errors, and interactive learning modules on patient safety. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Search a doctor's name for any disciplinary information provided by medical boards in over 20 states. Missouri is not included, although there is a link to the Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts Licensee Database. AIM DocFinder is provided by the Association of State Medical Board Executive Directors.
AMA Doctor Finder
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.
ARGH Biomedical Acronym/Abbreviation Database
Enter an acronym to see what it stands for, and how it has been used in context in MEDLINE titles and abstracts. Generated automatically from the MEDLINE database using a computer algorithm called Acronym Resolving General Heuristics (ARGH), it contains over 200,000 unique acronyms.
Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
Provides information on medical education, research, and health care. A directory of medical schools and medical school admissions offices in included.
Boone Hospital Center/BJC Physician Referral Database
Search for physicians in the BJC referral network (including Boone Hospital Center) by name, specialty, insurance, location, age or gender.
Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.
Cochrane Collaboration Consumer Network
Includes summaries of Cochrane reviews written for patients.
Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor's Guide Global Edition
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.
Current Bibliographies in Medicine
Provided by the National Library of Medicine. Each bibliography covers a distinct subject area of biomedicine of current popular interest. Available online back to 1992.
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
Concise information on diseases and drugs. Drug interaction checker, formularies, and images are available with optional free registration.
Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)
The FSMB is compsed of 69 member boards one being the Missouri Board of Healng Arts . The FSMB promotes high standards for physician licensure and practice and also produces USMLE .
Free Medical Podcasts
Also Known as: freemedicalpodcasts
Links to MP3s and transcripts (where available) for leading medical and scientific journals, and leading medical organizations such as the FDA, the Center for Disease Control, the American Heart Association, and more. Sign up for their mailing list to receive alerts. [more]
Hardin MD Meta Directory of Medical and Disease Pictures
Links to medical pictures on the web arranged by disease and medical specialty.
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required.
Medical Breakthroughs reported by Ivanhoe
19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995.
A free, non-profit, searchable database of over 1000 memory aids to help students memorize anatomical, biochemical and clinical concepts. Palm and AvantGo PDA versions also available. [more]
Medical Register for the United Kingdom
Also Known as: London Medical Register; UK Medical Register; Great Britain Medical Register
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
MEDLINE Top 5 Search
A google-like search box to pull only the 5 most relevant results from MEDLINE.
National Library of Medicine
As one of the largest subject collections of any kind in the world, the National Library of Medicine provides leadership in indexing, cataloging and providing medical literature for health professionals and health consumers through such services as MEDLINE/Pubmed, MedlinePlus, LocatorPlus, clinicaltrials.gov, and many others. Part of the National Institutes of Health.
Search, compare, and graph statistics for a country or region of the world. Includes many health statistics compiled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, OECD, and more.
New Cochrane Reviews
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Collected reviews from the Journal of Family Practice Journal Club. Each month, the JFP Journal Club applies the principles of evidence-based medicine to select 8 of the most clinically applicable articles from over 90 journals in every clinical specialty.
Professional Registration Licensee Search - Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts
Searchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status.
PubMed Clinical Q&A
Also Known as: Pubmed Clinical Q & A; Pubmed clinical questions & answers
Science Gateway Rankings
Although there's a 2+ year time lag, this site provides a snapshot of rankings of top journals, institutions, authors, and countries in various disciplines. Rankings are based on ISI's journal impact factor.
Self Care Flowcharts
These flowcharts from the American Academy of Family Physicians guide patients and healthcare consumers through common medical problems such as headache, fever, nausea etc.
Search, compare, and graph statistics for a state or region of the United States. Statistics are compiled from many sources, such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. Many health statistics are included.
Test Prep Review
Free practice tests from a nonprofit group of educators. Choose from MCAT, USMLE, NCLEX and other nursing exams and many more.
USMLE United States Medical Licensing Examination
Contains tutorials and practice sessions for the three testing areas, as well as information on application materials and testing accomodations and schedules. There are also downloads which simulate the computer-based testing format.
Who Named It?
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.
Yahoo subject List of Internet Resources in Health and Medicine
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Medicine
Tips for finding books
AAFP Conditions A to Z
Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical Practice
Big Picture : Medical Biochemistry
A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole.
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.
Clinician's Pocket Reference
Conn's Current Therapy
Current Clinical Medicine
Also Known as: Cleveland Clinic: Current Clinical Medicine
Current Consult: Medicine
The content of Papadakis & McPhee's Current Consult: Medicine is included under the Quick Access Tab in AccessMedicine.
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
A variety of free add-on programs to accompany ePocrates. Currently includes a tumor staging reference, a bone health assessment tool, dosing calculators, and treatment guides for cholesterol, psychiatry, and hypertension. [more]
Ferri's Clinical Advisor
This is the Directory of Graduate Medical Education programs (commonly known as the "Green Book") online.
Goldman's Cecil Medicine
Also Known as: Cecil Textbook of Medicine
Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare
Much of the information here was synthesized from two printed books, Guide to culturally competent health care and Transcultural Health Care: A culturally competent approach./a>.
Harrison's Manual of Medicine
A concise companion to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology
Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology
Healthcare Standards Directory
Also Known as: Health Care Standards Directory
LANGE Self Assessment Tool
Click on LANGE Self Assessment tool and complete the free registration form to access 3000 USLME Step 1 and Step 2 sample board exam questions. From USMLEasy.com.
Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program
A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.
Developed by some British doctors, this provides a structured approach to common symptoms, clinical states, and emergencies. PDA versions are available; free registration required.
mediLexicon Medical Abbreviations Directionary
Search over 200,000 medical abbreviations and their definitions.
Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures
Also Known as: emedicine
Murray and Nadel's: Textbook of Respiratory Medicine
Osler Medical Handbook
Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis
Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient
Primary Care Medicine ( Goroll )
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine
Quick Answers to Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
Red Book: 2012 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis
Recommended for School of Medicine IPC Block 5.
UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
Understanding Patient Safety
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.