Engineering Library & Technology Commons Engineering Library & Technology Commons Gateway MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Engineering : Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Databases for Articles

Databases for Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, provides full text for over 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, geology, mathematics, mechanical engineering, and physics content going back as far as 1990. [more]

ASME Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://asmedl.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ASMEDL
  
The ASME Digital Library, is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2009 to the present.

Compendex Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cdxb
  
Compendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]

Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTUzZSszYjEwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts. [more]

Energy Citations Database
http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/
  
Energy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]

Materials Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa2.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=materials
  
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]

NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=ntis
  
NTIS on Ovid (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Technology Research Database (TRD) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=techresearch-set-c
  

Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.
TRD indexes over 4000 periodicals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is comprised of: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Ceramic Abstracts; Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Computer and Information Systems Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; Earthquake Engineering Abstracts; Electronics and Communications Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Materials Business File; Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts; Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts; WELDASEARCH [more]

Journals

Journals for Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
ASME Transaction Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://asmedl.aip.org/journals/doc/ASMEDL-home/jrnls/
  
ASME's Transaction Journals and Applied Mechanics Reviews from 1990 to the present.

SPIN Web Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://scitation.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ALL
  
SPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
MSDS-Search National Repository
http://www.msdssearch.com/msdssearch.htm
  
Search for materials safety data sheets by manufacturer name, product name, product code,synonym or MSDS number. Also provides links to manufacturer websites and other MSDS databases.

Robotics Institute Publications - Carnegie Mellon University
http://www.ri.cmu.edu/general/publications.html
  
This site includes abstracts and bibliographic references for most publications by RI researchers. Additionally, the full text of many of the publications is downloadable in PDF or Postscript format.

SteelMatter: An Interactive Website for Ferrous Metallurgy
http://www.matter.org.uk/steelmatter/
  
Interactive tutorial aiming to to help students understand the close interdependencies between the different stages of steel production and to show how the final properties can be controlled through composition, processing and microstructure.

ThomasNet
http://www.thomasnet.com/
  

Also Known as: Thomas Register
From a single search box, users can search over 607,000 industrial suppliers, indexed by 70,000 product and service categories, and have access to thousands of industrial product catalogs and over 20 million CAD drawings.

Properties
Expert System for Thermodynamics (TEST)
http://energy.sdsu.edu/testcenter/
  
Created for learning, teaching, and practicing thermodynamics, TEST offers analysis tools for property evaluation of hundreds of working substances, energy, entropy, and exergy analysis of open and closed systems, IC engines, gas and vapor power cycles, refrigeration, HVAC, combustion, chemical equilibrium, and gas dynamics.

Materials Science Handbooks and Tables (from UC-Davis)
http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/pse/resources/subjects/engr-materials.php#handbooks
  
An excellent selection of resources on materials properties and data. Although the call numbers listed are for the UC-Davis library, most items are available either online (linked from the page) or in the library here (use our MERLIN catalog to find our call number).

Machine Tools
Engineering ToolBox
http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/
  
Resources, Tools and Basic Information for Engineering and Design of Technical Applications

iCrank.com
http://icrank.com/cgi-bin/pageman/pageout.cgi?path=/index_html.html
  

Also Known as: The Mechanical Engineering Portal
Includes links to data and other relevant sites for Mechanical Engineers.

Virtual Machine Shop Learning Library
http://www.jjjtrain.com/vms/library.html
  
The Learning library is a series of stand alone tutorials on topics such as measurement, cutting tools, engine lathes and more.

Automotive Engineering
Auto Alliance
http://www.autoalliance.org/
  
The Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers is a trade association of 10 car and light truck manufacturers. The Alliance serves as a leading advocacy group for the automobile industry on a range of public policy issues.

CSU Engine Web Pages
http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~allan/engines.html
  
Includes information on engine thermodynamics, heat transfer in engines, and fluid mechanics of engines.

Fuel Cell Today
http://www.fuelcelltoday.com/index/
  
Fuel Cell Today is an organisation for market based intelligence on the fuel cell industry. Covers key trends and developments in industry and government. Offerings include: daily news, market surveys, forecasting and policy analysis.

What is a Hypercar Vehicle?
http://www.rmi.org/sitepages/pid191.php
  

Electrical Motors and Energy Efficiency
Basics of Design Engineering
http://machinedesign.com/BasicsOfDesignEngineering/714/ElectricalElectronic.aspx
  

Copper Motor Rotor Project
http://www.copper-motor-rotor.org/
  
This project has identified and demonstrated design methods, manufacturing process parameters, and durable mold materials that have enabled economical production of die-cast copper motor rotors.

Motors, Pumps, and Fans: Best Practices from the Office of Industrial Technologies
http://www1.eere.energy.gov/industry/bestpractices/motors.html
  
On this page, you will find BestPractices resources that are specific to motor systems. These include publications, software tools, and training information. Most can be downloaded from this site; others can be ordered from the EERE Information Center.

Motors/Motor Systems
http://www.cee1.org/ind/mot-sys/mtr-ms-main.php3
  
The Consortium for Energy Efficiency's page on motor/motor systems initiatives.

Piezoelectric Motor Research
http://campus.mst.edu/piezo/
  

Premium-Efficiency Motors Initiative Fact Sheet
http://www.cee1.org/ind/motrs/motrs-main.php3
  
From the Consortium for Energy Efficiency.

Energy Production
Guided Tour on Wind Energy
http://www.windpower.org/en/tour.htm
  
Provided by the Danish Wind Industry Association. Covers design, manufacturing, economics and more.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
ASM Handbook Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://products.asminternational.org/hbk/index.jsp
  
Complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. 1990 edition also available in print: MU ENGINEERING REFERENCE, TA459 .A52 1990

ASTM Standards Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ihserc.com/cgi-bin/ihslogin?form=1113&prod=specs2
  
ASTM Standards is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering metals, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and medical de [more]

Ebrary - Electronic Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia
  
Ebrary - Electronic Books provides access to over 2000 electronic books covering computers (including Photoshop, PowerPoint, Dreamweaver, etc.), engineering, social sciences and other topics available in full-text. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]

Heat Transfer Textbook, 3rd Edition
http://web.mit.edu/lienhard/www/ahtt.html
  
An introduction to heat and mass transfer available for free download.

Knovel Steam Tables Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/web/portal/basic_search/display?_EXT_KNOVEL_DISPLAY_bookid=1251
  
This title provides a full implementation of equations for the properties of water and steam published by The International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS). It includes interactive tables, each accompanied by a calculator, live graphs, and a power cycle efficiency calculator.

MAE Style Guide (writing)
http://web.missouri.edu/~umcengrmaeweb/students/stylebook2.pdf
  
Guide for written technical presentations in all MAE classes.

Standards
ASTM Standards Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ihserc.com/cgi-bin/ihslogin?form=1113&prod=specs2
  
ASTM Standards is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering metals, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and medical de [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog