Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia MU Libraries

Journalism : Journalism Studies

Databases for Articles

Databases for Journalism Studies
19th Century Masterfile Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/poolescancellation.htm
  
[more]

Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
[more]

America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
  
[more]

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE0NEQ@&clientId=45247
  
[more]

American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ASPA
  
[more]

ArchiveGrid Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://archivegrid.org
  
[more]

Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
[more]

Associated Press Multimedia Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://apimages.ap.org/unsecured/logip.aspx
  

Also Known as: AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
[more]

British Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
[more]

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
[more]

Communication and Mass Media Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh
  
[more]

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full Text Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=sagecom-set-c
  
[more]

Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTUzZSszYjEwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
[more]

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://hapi.ucla.edu
  
[more]

Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia
  
[more]

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://hsus.cambridge.org
  
[more]

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://staging.lincolnandthecivilwar.com/welcome.asp
  
[more]

In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives
http://www.inthefirstperson.com/firp/index.aspx
  
[more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
[more]

MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=kah
  
[more]

NewsBank Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com
  
Includes complete full-text content for the Kansas City Star (1991+) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1989+) newspapers, except for paid advertising. Also includes News Missouri (1997+), which contains wire service news articles about events and issues of importance to Missouri and surrounding states. [more]

Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
[more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
  
[more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0QrMUFDQw@@&clientId=45247
  
[more]

Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?CustID=0000114818&prod=RGR
  
[more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SERIAL&s_startsearch=customized&s_home=mulibraries.missouri.edu
  
[more]

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
[more]

Journals

Journals for Journalism Studies
  • Communication Theory
  • Communications Lawyer
  • Continuum: The Journal of Media and Communication Studies
  • Critical Studies in Media Communication
  • Journal of Mass Media Ethics
  • Journalism History
  • Journalism Studies
  • Media, Culture, and Society
  • Media History
  • Media Studies Journal
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Journalism Studies
American Journalism Historians Association
http://ajhaonline.org/
  

American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
  

Find Law
http://www.findlaw.com/
  

Law Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/law/index.php
  

Legal Information Institute
http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/
  

Media History Monographs
http://facstaff.elon.edu/dcopeland/mhm/mhm.htm
  

Media Law Resource Center
http://www.medialaw.org/
  

National Freedom of Information Coalition
http://www.nfoic.org/foi-center
  

Reporters' Committee for Freedom of the Press
http://www.rcfp.org/
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Journalism Studies
ebrary Online Books
Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog