Research Guides by Subject
Arts & Humanities
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Classics
- Communication
- English Language & Literature
- American Literature
- Medieval Literature
- Modern and Contemporary Literature
- Nineteenth Century Literature
- Renaissance Literature
- Restoration and 18th Century Literature
- Film
- Foreign Language & Literature
- Francophone Languages and Literatures
- Italian Language and Literature
- Lusophone Languages and Literatures
- Spanish Language and Literatures
- History
- Historical Newspapers
- History of the British Empire
- U.S. History (recent)
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religious Studies
- Theatre
Business & Economics
Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Computer Science
- Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Engineering, General
- Environmental Science & Engineering
- Geological & Geotechnical Engineering
- Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering
- Materials Science
- Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
- Nuclear Science & Engineering
- Transportation
Health & Medicine
- Alternative Medicine
- Anatomy
- Anesthesiology
- Biomedical Informatics
- Cardiology/Vascular Disease
- Communicable Diseases
- Communication Disorders
- Consumer Health
- Dermatology
- Education, Medical
- Emergency Medicine
- Endocrinology
- Epidemiology
- Ethics, Medical
- Evidence Based Medicine
- Family Practice
- Gastroenterology
- Genetics
- Gynecology/Obstetrics
- Health Care Management
- Hematology
- History of Medicine
- Medicine
- Microbiology & Immunology
- Nephrology/Urology
- Neurosciences
- Nursing
- Occupational Therapy
- Oncology
- Ophthalmology
- Orthopedics
- Otolaryngology
- Pathology
- Pediatrics
- Pharmacology
- Pharmacy
- Physical Therapy
- Physiology
- Psychiatry
- Public Health
- Pulmonary Disease
- Radiology
- Rheumatology
- Surgery
- Tests/Lab Diagnosis
- Toxicology
- Veterinary Medicine
Journalism
Science & Technology
Social Sciences
Subject Librarians
Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing
Health & Medicine : History of Medicine
Core Resources
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Articles
Databases for History of Medicine
19th Century Masterfile ![]()
![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/poolescancellation.htm![]()
An index of indexes to published literature of the nineteenth century. Current includes: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Stead's Index, the "British Poole's, covering (1890-1902); and Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals (1896-1899). Formerly known as Poole's Plus. [more]
America History and Life ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl![]()
Contains almost 400,000 bibliographic references concerning the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities and also included. [more]
Citation Classics from the Institute of Scientific Information ![]()
http://garfield.library.upenn.edu/classics/![]()
Authors of highly cited papers offer personal reflections on their research: how the project was initiated, obstacles encountered, and reflections on their success. Search for a specific article/author, or browse by date. A compilation of columns which originally appeared in Current Contents from 1977-1993. [more]
Current Bibliography in the History of Technology ![]()
![]()
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt![]()
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL![]()
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]
HISTLINE ![]()
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?cmd=search&db=pubmed&term=history[sb]&tool=LOCATORplusVersionI&holding=nlmlib![]()
The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource, Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library. [more]
Historical Abstracts ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia![]()
References cover the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life), including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. [more]
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://indexcat.nlm.nih.gov![]()
Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]
Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science ![]()
![]()
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&title=0021-![]()
Literature Arts and Medicine Database ![]()
![]()
http://litmed.med.nyu.edu/Search?action=startann![]()
An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject.
OLDMEDLINE ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=medo![]()
Citations from the back volumes of Cumulated Index Medicus prior to 1966; older items are gradually being added. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0QrMUFDQw@@&clientId=45247![]()
A growing collection of searchable full page images for the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. Although not all years are available yet, most of the New York Times for 1850-1879 and 1968-1977 will soon be available, along with the Wall Street Journal from 1930-1985, with access back to 1900 forthcoming. Wall Street Journal 1930-1985 will be complete by the end of the year. [more]
Journals
Journals for History of MedicineTips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on History of Medicine ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=med.history![]()
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources Online
Other Resources Online for History of Medicine
Controlled Trials from History ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jameslindlibrary.org/trial_records/published.html![]()
A chronological listing of early clinical trials published from biblical times through the mid-twentieth century, often with commentaries. Links to complete text or key passages, portraits, biographical information, and teaching materials are included for some of the trials. From the James Lind Library, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh.
Diseases and Conditions depicted in the Tate Art Gallery Collection, London ![]()
http://www.tate.org.uk/servlet/SubjectSearch![]()
Look under People…Diseases and Conditions to see artwork depicting various diseases in the Tate Galleries in London
History of the Health Sciences Word Wide Web Links ![]()
http://www.mla-hhss.org/histlink.htm![]()
Links to databases, journals, libraries, and websites on the history of health sciences. Compiled by the Medical Library Association's History of Health Sciences Section.
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Health Related Professions (HRP) ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyhealthrelatedprofessions.htm![]()
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyschoolofmedicine.htm![]()
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia, School of Nursing ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyschoolofnursing.htm![]()
A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
Images from the History of Medicine ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://wwwihm.nlm.nih.gov/![]()
An index of nearly 60,000 prints and photographs from the history of medicine collection.
MedHist ![]()
http://www.intute.ac.uk/healthandlifesciences/medhist/![]()
National Library of Medicine History of Medicine Division Finding Aid ![]()
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/news/hmdfindaid.html![]()
Also Known as: NLM HMD EAD collectionBrowse and search the archives of the History of Medicine Division at the National Library of Medicine. [more]
National Library of Medicine Online Images in the History of Medicine ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://wwwihm.nlm.nih.gov/![]()
A searchable database of nearly 60,000 prints and photographs from the history of medicine collection.
Origins and History of the Washington University School of Medicine ![]()
![]()
http://beckerexhibits.wustl.edu/wusm-hist/index.htm![]()
Chronicles the history of the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis from 1840-1991. From the Becker Medical Library.
Review of the Hospitals of the University of Missouri-Columbia ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyreviewhospital1986.htm![]()
Written by Keith J. Weinhold in April 1986, it examines the history of the University of Missouri hospitals.
Wellcome Images ![]()
http://medphoto.wellcome.ac.uk/![]()
[more]
Who Named It? ![]()
http://www.whonamedit.com/index.cfm![]()
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.
eBooks / Books
eBooks / Books for History of MedicineTips for finding books
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=ECCO![]()
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. The complete text of nearly 150,000 English-language books from the 1700s will be made available online by 2009. [more]
Google Book Search ![]()
http://books.google.com![]()
Although many books can't be viewed online, you can search every word in them using Google Books, then scroll down and click on Find in a Library to locate the book on the shelf at MU Libraries. If no local copy is available, you can click on ILL@MU to borrow the book via interlibrary loan, or "buy this book" and have your purchase benefit MU Libraries. [more]
Medical History of British India ![]()
http://www.nls.uk/indiapapers/index.html![]()
[more]
Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com![]()
Search over 1.3 million books and official publications, 61,647 archival collections and 15.5 million journal articles published in the 1800s. [more]
Oxford English Dictionary Online ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oed.com![]()
Also Known as: OEDGives current and historical definitions and usage of over half a million words in the English language worldwide, from formal language to slang. Each entry provides etymologies and quotations demonstrating usage. The online version includes the 2nd edition and ongoing updates to the 3rd, and permits free-text searching of an entire entry or searching within the etymology, definition or quotation fields. [more]
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
- If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
- Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog
