Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : History

Databases for Articles

Databases for History
A & H Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100336350;dbname=AHSearch&screen=advanced;done=referer;FSIP
  

Also Known as: Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Search
A & H Search is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. [more]

America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
  
Contains almost 400,000 bibliographic references concerning the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities and also included. [more]

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/cwldlive/
  
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE0NEQ@&clientId=45247
  
APS Online provides full-page images (PDF) of more than 1,000 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. In addition to general circulation magazines like Harper's and Ladies Home Journal, many several medical titles from the early 1800s are included, such as American Journal of the Medical Sciences (1827-1850). Although full content is displayed, only the titles, authors, and journal names can be searched. Not all years are available yet for each included journal, since content is still being added. [more]

American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ASPA
  
American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]

Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
Archives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]

Avery Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=avery-set-c
  
Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date. [more]

British Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
British Periodicals is an index that covers important 19th-century British magazines and journals from the late 18th century to 1900. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]

Current Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet Press CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/ellisonly.htm
  
Current Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet Press contains the full-text of an English-language compilation of articles that appeared in important Soviet newspapers such as Pravda and Isvestia. Original, Russian-language articles are not contained in this CD-ROM. [more]

Digital National Security Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://nsarchive.chadwyck.com/
  
The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]

DigiZeitschriften
http://www.digizeitschriften.de/index.php?id=64&L=2
  

Also Known as: Das Deutsche Digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/whatis.html
  

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL
  
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://hapi.ucla.edu
  
Indexes more than 400 social science and humanities journals covering Central and South Ameria, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. [more]

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project
http://newspapers.umsystem.edu/Archive/skins/missouri/navigator.asp?BP=OK&GZ=T&AW=1080831627453
  
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]

Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia
  
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. Historical Abstracts indexes over 1700 scholarly journals. [more]

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://staging.lincolnandthecivilwar.com/welcome.asp
  
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.brepolis.net
  
IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]

iPOLL Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://roperweb.ropercenter.uconn.edu/iPOLL/login/ipoll_login.html
  
The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

L'Annee Philologique Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
  
L'Annee Philologique covers all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. It covers a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more. [more]

Luther's Sermons CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/ellisonly.htm
  
Luther's Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]

Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law
  
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. [more]

Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law?db=MMLT
  
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. [more]

Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digital (MGH)
http://www.dmgh.de/
  
MGH is a comprehensive collection of medieval sources for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. The digital version includes volumes in print for more than five years. Print volumes are available in the MU Libraries. [more]

North American Women's Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/nwldlive
  
North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
http://medievalsourcesbibliography.org/index.html
  
This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations. [more]

Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]

Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worlswide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]

PERSEE
http://www.persee.fr/web/guest/home
  

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]

PORTAL: The British Academy's Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences
http://www.britac.ac.uk/portal/
  
PORTAL covers the whole spectrum of the humanities and social sciences from the history of art to geographical information systems, and from labor history to the indigenous languages of Latin America. [more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
  
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0QrMUFDQw@@&clientId=45247
  
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2005) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of these newspapers. [more]

Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?CustID=0000114818&prod=RGR
  
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]

revues.org
http://www.revues.org/
  

Television News Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/
  
Television News Archive includes over 835,000 records describing items of news content. [more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SERIAL&s_startsearch=customized&s_home=mulibraries.missouri.edu
  
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]

U.S. Statutes at Large Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp
  
U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. [more]

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law
  
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. [more]

UM Digital Library
http://digital.library.umsystem.edu
  
UM Digital Library is a repository of digitized Missouri materials. [more]

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]

Journals

Journals for History
American Historical Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=american+historical+review&searchtype=browse
  

Also Known as: AHR

History Today Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=history+today&searchtype=exact&x=44&y=14
  

Journals for History
Browse Journals on History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=hum.hist
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for History
American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
  

ARCHON Directory
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/
  

British Library Microform Research Collections
http://www.bl.uk/services/document/microrescoll/microrescoll.html
  

Documenta Catholica Omnia
http://www.documentacatholicaomnia.eu
  

Also Known as: Multilanguage Catholic E-Books Database
[more]

Global Gateway: Wolrd Culture & Resources
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html
  

Intute: Arts and Humanities
http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/
  

Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/
  

Medieval Studies
http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/medieval/medieval.html
  

National Archives (UK)
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/searchthearchives/default.htm?source=ddmenu_search0
  

National Registry of Archives
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/nra/default.asp
  

Netserf: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
http://www.netserf.org/
  

ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
http://the-orb.net/index.html
  

Zotero
http://www.zotero.org/
  
Free, easy-to-use Firefox downloadable software that collects, organizes, manages, stores, and outputs citations in various formats.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for History
African American Almanac Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787691400&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314297&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EVAN&s_startsearch=customized
  
Based on the historic "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by the "Supplement to Evans American Bibliography" by Roger Bristol, the collection includes all titles contained in the Evans microform editions - more than 36,000 items published in 17th and 18th century America and over 2.3 million images. [more]

Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SHAW&s_startsearch=customized
  
Based on the "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, the collection includes more than four million pages from over 36,000 items (books, documents, broadsides, pamphlets)—including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions. [more]

ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=ECCO
  
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. The complete text of nearly 150,000 English-language books from the 1700s will be made available online by 2009. [more]

Encyclopedia of African American Society Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781412925402&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Encyclopedia of Black Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781412914307&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

English Short Title Catalogue
http://estc.bl.uk
  
The ESTC lists works printed ca. 1473-1800 in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States, Canada, and other territories governed by Britain, regardless of language, and works in English and other British vernaculars printed elsewhere. [more]

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html
  

Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
Search over 1.3 million books and official publications, 61,647 archival collections and 15.5 million journal articles published in the 1800s. [more]

Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t232&subject=s11
  

Oxford Reference Online Premium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/
  
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas. [more]

The European Library
http://search.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/en/index.html
  
The European Library searches the content of European national libraries, including digital collections from member libraries. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog