Health & Medicine : Health Care Management
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
- Business Source Premier
- Frost & Sullivan for MU Faculty and Staff
- Frost & Sullivan for MU Students
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
More Databases for Articles...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Health Care Management
Search over 2,000 international, national, regional and local periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and competitive and product information. Full text is available from many of the journals. Also includes PR Newswire, updated daily. A hierarchical classification system enables the user to create broad topical subsets before applying specific search terms. The five areas covered by the classification codes include: business environment (E.G., economic conditions, social policy), management function (e.g., public relations, planning, information management), industries and markets, article treatment (e.g., company specific, product specific), and organization codes (e.g., small business, non-profit institution). [more]
Business and Company Resource Center
Also Known as: Business Insights Essentials
Includes company financial reports, market share data, product lines, company histories, and industry overviews, in addition to magazine articles from 1980-date. [more]
Business Source Premier
As the world’s largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Search for articles about a given company, industry, or country. Also includes SWOT analyses for many companies, plus market research reports for different industries. [more]
Each week, CQ Researcher writes a detailed, 20+ page analysis of "hot issue" from the news. Each analysis includes pro/con and an annotated bibliography. Many bioethics topics are included, such as embryo research, women's health, Medicare reform, and many more. [more]
DARE - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
A collection of high quality systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for DARE will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, "EBM Reviews", has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search DARE is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: DARE permits targeting particular kinds of studies, e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, caption and footnotes. [more]
Indexes the world's economics literature, encompassing over 400 major journals. From the American Economic Association. [more]
Formerly known as Dow Jones Interactive. Browse the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and other leading newspapers, magazines and newswires through the Business Newsstand; search over 6000 publications through the Publications Library; or view company, industry, country or market research reports. Please disconnect by using the EXIT button in the upper left when finished. [more]
Frost & Sullivan for MU Faculty and Staff
Frost & Sullivan for MU Students
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]
Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library
Also Known as: nyam grey literature
Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes more than 400 social science and humanities journals covering Central and South Ameria, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. [more]
An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
Descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts. Now searched as part of the NLM Gateway. [more]
HSRR - Health Service and Sciences Research Resources
Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
Also Known as: IBIDS ; ODS dietary supplements
Formerly available as a freestanding database called IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements, this has now been folded into PubMed. On the PubMed Limits page, choose Dietary Supplements under Subsets. [more]
MAUDE - Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience Database
MAUDE data represents reports of adverse events involving medical devices. The data consists of all voluntary reports since June, 1993, user facility reports since 1991, distributor reports since 1993, and manufacturer reports since August, 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]
MDR Medical Device Reporting Database
This database allows you to search the CDRH's database information on medical devices which may have malfunctioned or caused a death or serious injury during the years 1992 through 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]
HealthSTAR is no longer available as a separate database. Search MEDLINE for all aspects of health care delivery, including administration, economics, planning, policy, ethics, outcomes, effectiveness and quality. [more]
metaRegister of Controlled Trials
Summaries from over 10,000 randomized trials (both ongoing and completed) worldwide from 20 clinical trial registers. Each trial is assigned a International Standard Randomized Controlled Trial Number to faciliate tracking. [more]
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. [more]
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database
Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database
Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. Search by state, keyword, or broad subject, including privary, discrimination, commercialization, screening, and more. [more]
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. Industry reports are available for healthcare facilites, managed care, pharmaceuticals, and products and supplies. [more]
NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool
Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]
A single portal for searching National Library of Medicine collections and databases, including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, MEDLINEplus, HISTLINE, AIDSLINE, SPACELINE, HSRPROJ and DIRLINE. [more]
A catalog of publications from the U.S. National Technical Information Service. The premier resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. Various classification systems enhance subject retrieval. Material can also be searched by corporate source, patent number and CAS registry number. Use the ORDER button to request the corresponding fulltext documents. [more]
OECD Health Statistics
Also Known as: OECD ilibrary; OECD health data; SourceOECD; Source oecd
The demand for health-related data is high. One of the main obstacles limiting meaningful analysis of health care systems has always been, and still is, the lack of sufficient coverage and availability of health care statistics. The need for internationally-comparable data is on the rise as national administrations seek to evaluate their health care systems against those of other countries. OECD Health Data 2010 aims to address a sizeable part of these needs for Member countries. The database is designed to further the knowledge of health services inputs and throughputs, highlight differences in common medical practices, help quantify key non-medical health-related factors and, in a world of financial constraints, to describe key features of each system's financing and delivery mechanisms.
ProQuest Statistical Data Sets
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest
Provides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international, including the Vital & Health Statistics Series, the National Cancer Institute SEER data, and the HCUP Health Care Utilization Project showing discharge statistics by disease, procedure, insurance status, and more. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS.
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
QOLID Quality of Life Instruments Database
Search for measures of quality of life and patient reported outcomes by disease, pathology, language and population to identify the names of potential measurement tools. A subscription is required to view additional information beyond the title, including sample questions, reviews, etc. [more]
Smoking and Health Databases
Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]
Search evidence based medicial topics from 61 EBM sites around the world, including ACP Journal Club, POEMS, Bandolier, DARE, and others. From the Centre for Research Support in Wales. Register for a free password and choose University of Missouri - Columbia in your settings to view links and ordering options for primary research articles. [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)
Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Health Care Management
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Provides information on outcomes and effectiveness; preventive services; clinical practice guidelines; quality and patient safety.
AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exchange
Also Known as: Agency for Health Care Research and Quality Healthcare Innovations Exchange
AHRQ Web M&M: Morbidity and Mortality Rounds on the Web
A forum on patient safety, featuring expert analyses of anonymously submitted medical errors, and interactive learning modules on patient safety. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Search a doctor's name for any disciplinary information provided by medical boards in over 20 states. Missouri is not included, although there is a link to the Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts Licensee Database. AIM DocFinder is provided by the Association of State Medical Board Executive Directors.
AMA Physician-Related Data Resources by County
Also Known as: American Medical Association Physician Statistics by County
Discover the total number of physicians in any U.S. county, or in a given medical specialty in a county. From the AMA Physicians Masterfile.
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.
American Indian Health
Provides links to Web sites, documents, databases, and other resources of interest to Native Americans. From the National Library of Medicine.
Best Health Plans
Search by state or name for information on commercial, Medicare, and Medicaid plans. Compare plans on metrics like access to care, satisfaction, and preventive services. Includes rankings and an honor roll of top plans. From U.S. News & World Report' based on data provided by the National Committee for Quality Assurance.
BING Health Maps
Choose a state, and view statistical map overlays of health indicators by county, including prenatal care, chronic disease, smoking, health behaviors, and more.
Boone County Health Report Card
Created by the Chamber of Commerce in 1995; to be updated annually. Contains county statistics on various problem health issues such as access to health care, maternal and child health, mental health, and more.
Center for Health Policy, University of Missouri
Researches and publishes information on health policy issues of interest to Missourians, including Medicaid, stem cell research, patient safety, insurance, and access issues.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Homepage of the federal agency that administers the Medicare, Medicaid and Child Health insurance programs.
City and County Data Book
Also Known as: City and County Databook
Includes statistics from all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. The most comprehensive source of information on cities and counties, including vital statistics, health services, demography, agriculture, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, households, housing, income, labor force, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
CMS Hospital Violations Database
Also Known as: Hospital inspections; hospitalinspections ; medicare hospital violations
View reports of federal safety rule violations for over 1000 acute care hospitals since January 2011. A joint venture of the Center for Medicare Services and the Association of Health Care Journalists. [more]
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Locate and assess the quality of over 2500 systematic and non systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health. From the EPPI-Centre Health Promotion and Public Health Research Registers.
Directory of America's Hospitals
From U.S. News and World Report and the American Hospital Association. Search by name, location, specialty services or equipment offered. Includes information on staff size and patient volume.
DocuShare Document Management System for MU Healthcare
Also Known as: hospital protocols
Policies and procedures for MU Healthcare. Logon with your pawprint.
Also Known as: fair health consumer; fairhealth consumer
Compare customary charges for medical and dental services nationwide. Browse by procedure or search by CPT code.
Also Known as: IRIS; Illinois Researcher Information Service
Also Known as: IRIS
Search for physicians, dentists, naturopathic physicians, acupuncturists, hospitals, emergency services, birth centers, mammography facilities, assisted living facilities by name, city/state/zip. Includes addresses, brief profile information and driving directions. Also includes "hospital report cards" on various cardiovascular, neurologic, orthopedic, and pulmonary procedures and diagnoses, as well as report cards for nursing homes, hospices, fertility clinics, and home health agencies based on explicitly stated methodologic criteria.
Health Professional Shortage Areas
Lists of all areas, population groups, and facilities designated as primary medical care, mental health, and dental health professional shortage areas (HPSAs). Published in the federal register.
Healthcare Blue Book
Also Known as: healthcare blue book; health care bluebook; health care bluebook;
Compare prices for medical procedures, tests, hearing aids, and other health care services. Includes an option to enter your ZIP code to compare prices for nearby doctors & hospitals.
Also Known as: healthevidence ca ; health evidence ca ; health-evidence canada ;healthevidence canada
Search and browse for systematic reviews in public health. Reviews have been assessed and assigned scores for methodological quality, and many have structured abstracts. From McMaster University. [more]
Hospital Charges and Collections from the Missouri Hospital Association
Also Known as: focus on hospitals ; MHA reports ; HIDI
Prevailing charges for the top 60 inpatient medical conditions at 109 acute care hospitals in Missouri. Compiled by the Missouri Hospital Association.
Compare how hospitals measure up to one another in their treatment of patients with heart attack, heart failure, or pneumonia based on selected benchmarks. From the Department of Health and Human Services in collaboration with the Hospital Quality Alliance.
HTAi Vortal - Health Technology Assessment International
Search for health technology assessment information on the web. This Google Custom Search target free website.
Integrated Health Interview Series - IHIS
Also Known as: National Health Interview Survey ; NHIS
Harmonized data from the National Health Interview Survey which allows trend comparisons of over 12,000 health related variables, from health conditions to health care use and access. Extracted from the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) public use data from the National Center for Health Statistics.
JCAHO Quality Check
Search by location and JCAHO(Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations) accreditation status, and print performance report to see scores from the latest JCAHO visit.
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)
Provides information for consumers as well as healthcare providers and administrators.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
Missouri Board of Nursing
Contains contact information, a licensee directory, latest news affecting nurses in practice. Also available is information on requirements for state licensure, including LPN and RN licensure applications, information about license renewal, and transferring licensure to another state.
Missouri Hospital Association
Also Known as: MHA
Established in 1922, the Missouri Hospital Association is a not-for-profit organization of 150 member hospitals. Includes news, workforce reports, and information on continuing education. The Focus on Hospitals web site reports on community benefit and economic impact of Missouri hospitals.
Missouri Patient Care Review Foundation
A health care quality improvement and peer review organization. Conducts quality improvement collaboration projects with Missouri providers and offers consultation services.
MU Healthcare Performance Measures
Also Known as: Mu health quality of care ; muhealth quality ; mu health care quality
See how MU Health Care compares to other hospitals in Missouri and nationwide on quality metrics in cardiovascular, pneumonia, surgical, emergency, and preventive care; hospital acquired infections, and use of imaging technologies. From the MU Health Care Quality of Care website.
National Library of Medicine
As one of the largest subject collections of any kind in the world, the National Library of Medicine provides leadership in indexing, cataloging and providing medical literature for health professionals and health consumers through such services as MEDLINE/Pubmed, MedlinePlus, LocatorPlus, clinicaltrials.gov, and many others. Part of the National Institutes of Health.
Search, compare, and graph statistics for a country or region of the world. Includes many health statistics compiled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, OECD, and more.
Aggregating data from 11 government agencies and organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean section rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available. From the March of Dimes. View information by state, or for a given metro area.
Public Library Geographic Database
Offers map plots of selected census data for a chosen area of the U.S. Choose a public library and discover the ethnicity, income, education, race, age of residents nearby. Funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and created for use by libraries, but it can also be useful for other groups doing needs assessment.
RHIN - Refugee Health Information Network
Health information and services for both refugees and health providers. Information is available in 70 languages.
Rural Assistance Center
A national resource on rural health and human services information. Link to resource guides on rural health topics. Information specialists are available to provide customized assistance, such as web and database searches on rural topics and funding resources, linking users to organizations, and furnishing relevant publications from the RAC resource library.
Search on a drug to finder lower cost and generic alternatives. Free registration required.
Also Known as: scan grants
Search for grants for health services research and programs. Emphasizes private foundations, corporations, businesses, not-for profit organizations, and other nontraditional funding sources not found in grants.gov. A free service of Samaritan Health Services Center for Health Research and Quality.
State Health Facts Online
Also Known as: statehealthfacts;statehealthfacts.org
Contains latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy. Includes information on health coverage, access, financing and state legislation. Site allows comparison of data for all states. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Search, compare, and graph statistics for a state or region of the United States. Statistics are compiled from many sources, such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. Many health statistics are included.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Health Care Management
Tips for finding books
CAMH Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Hospitals
Accreditation manual from the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations. Formerly known as the JCAHO Manual. Available to MU Healthcare users via the MyApps page. Call the ITS helpdesk at 884-HELP to arrange for access.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare
Much of the information here was synthesized from two printed books, Guide to culturally competent health care and Transcultural Health Care: A culturally competent approach./a>.
Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach