Health & Medicine : Gynecology & Obstetrics
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Gynecology & Obstetrics
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club
The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, "EBM Reviews", has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
JournalsJournals for Gynecology & Obstetrics
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Gynecology
Browse Journals on Obstetrics
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Gynecology & Obstetrics
AMA Doctor Finder
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.
Boone County Health Report Card
Created by the Chamber of Commerce in 1995; to be updated annually. Contains county statistics on various problem health issues such as access to health care, maternal and child health, mental health, and more.
Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor's Guide Global Edition
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
Global Library of Women's Medicine
Also Known as: GLOWM;Sciarra;Obstetrics and gynecology
A freely available, peer reviewed textbook of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Most of the chapters are updates of Sciarra's 2004 6-volume Obstetrics and Gynecology textbook.
HEAL - Health Education Assets Library
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.
Karolinska Institute Medical Images
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.
Medical Breakthroughs reported by Ivanhoe
19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
MedlinePlus alerts and news headlines
Subscribe to daily or weekly alerts listing breaking medical news &/or newly added websites. You can specify topics of interest, such as women's health, diabetes, mental health or other areas.
New Cochrane Reviews
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Aggregating data from 11 government agencies and organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean section rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available. From the March of Dimes. View information by state, or for a given metro area.
Who Named It?
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Gynecology & Obstetrics
Tips for finding books
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology
Also Known as: Current OB & GYN Diagnosis & Treatment
A wide range of topics, progressing from the basics of health care for women to complicated sub-specialty problems.
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]
Guide to Effective Care in Pregnancy and Childbirth, 3rd ed (Enkin)
The complete text of the 3rd edition, made available courtesy of the authors.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.
Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies
Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Care
Also Known as: Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Care
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.