Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Social Sciences : Gerontology

Databases for Articles

Databases for Gerontology
Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

GenderWatch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/genderwatch/advanced?accountid=14576
  
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues. [more]

Google Scholar CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htm
  
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Nursing Home Compare
http://www.medicare.gov/nhcompare/home.asp
  
Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist.

PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
  
Also Known as: psychological abstracts
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Social Services Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/socialservices/advanced?accountid=14576
  
Indexes and abstracts current published research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]

Social Work Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=swh
  
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. [more]

Sociological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/socabs/advanced?accountid=14576
  
Also Known as: sociology
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]

Journals

Journals for Gerontology
Browse Journals on Gerontology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=socsci.gerontol
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Gerontology
Medicare Nursing Homes Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.medicare.gov/Nursing/Overview.asp
  
A free database of Medicaid and Medicare nursing homes.

Rating America's Nursing Homes
http://content.gannettonline.com/gns/nursinghomes/index.html
  
This site contains information about how to access a database of quality ratings of 16,000 nursing homes and resources on the web. The site also contains tips on choosing a nursing home.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Gerontology
Encyclopedia of Gerontology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3031999999&q=morenetuomcolum
  

Geriatrics At Your Fingertips Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.geriatricscareonline.org/ProductAbstract/geriatrics-at-your-fingertips/B005/
  
[more]

Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=540
  
Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology

Merck Manual of Geriatrics
http://www.merck.com/mkgr/mmg/contents.jsp
  
Browse and search the complete text of the 3rd edition, 2000.

Practice of Geriatrics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Duthie:+Practice+of+Geriatrics
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog