Health & Medicine : Geriatrics
Core Resources
Databases for ArticleseBooks / Books
Databases for Articles
Databases for Geriatrics
MEDLINE (Ovid) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesdCitations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Nursing Home Compare
http://www.medicare.gov/nhcompare/home.aspDatabase to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist.
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyhAlso Known as: psychological abstracts
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]
Social Services Abstracts ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/socialservices/advanced?accountid=14576Indexes and abstracts current published research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]
Social Work Abstracts ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=swhProduced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. [more]
Sociological Abstracts ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/socabs/advanced?accountid=14576Also Known as: sociology
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Search and display cited references for key journals published since 2001, and all journals since 2004. Each individual cited reference may also link to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference. Formerly known as Sociofile. [more]
Journals
Tips for finding journals and journal articles- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources Online
Other Resources Online for Geriatrics
Medicare Nursing Homes ![]()
http://www.medicare.gov/Nursing/Overview.aspA free database of Medicaid and Medicare nursing homes.
Rating America's Nursing Homes
http://content.gannettonline.com/gns/nursinghomes/index.htmlThis site contains information about how to access a database of quality ratings of 16,000 nursing homes and resources on the web. The site also contains tips on choosing a nursing home.
eBooks / Books
eBooks / Books for GeriatricsTips for finding books
Encyclopedia of Aging ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402299999&q=morenetuomcolum
Encyclopedia of Elder Care ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Doc?id=10209929
Encyclopedia of Gerontology ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3031999999&q=morenetuomcolum
Geriatrics At Your Fingertips ![]()
http://www.geriatricscareonline.org/ProductAbstract/geriatrics-at-your-fingertips/B005/[more]
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=540Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology
Practice of Geriatrics ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Duthie:+Practice+of+Geriatrics
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
- If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
- Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog