Health & Medicine : Genetics
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Other Resources Online
- Human Genome Resources Guide
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
More Other Resources Online...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Genetics
Annual Reviews Online Index
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]
DART Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology
Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]
DbGaP Genotype and Phenotype
Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI
Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]
A NIH-funded clinical information resource relating genetic testing to the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of individuals and families with specific inherited disorders. From the University of Washington - Seattle. Also available as part of the NCBI Bookshelf. [more]
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data Bank
Retrieve peer-reviewed mutagenicity data on over 2,000 chemicals. These expert reviews were themselves published in the Reviews in Genetic Toxicology section of MUTATION RESEARCH. The information for each test system includes species, sex, assay type, results, etc. and carries a **PEER REVIEWED** status tag. Each test system is referenced with a number identifying the study citation in the Environmental Mutagen Information Center file and a brief bibliographic citation for the original source paper and/or to the GENE-TOX panel report publication for the assay. To search, select GENE-TOX from the drop down search menu. [more]
Locate resources on the Hedgehog Signaling Pathway, an essential cellular pathway required during embryogenesis of many organisms. Search by gene, disease, clinical trial, patent, and more. Find protocols, tissue cell lines, and reagents used by Hh pathway researchers. Produced by San Francisco State University. [more]
Jablonski's Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation (MCA/MR) Syndromes Database
A dictionary of over 700 congenital syndromes and chromosomal aberrations which are associated with mental retardation, drawn from Stanley Jablonski's book, Dictionary of Syndromes and Eponymic Diseases. 2nd ed. Malabar, FL, Krieger, 1991. Includes bibliographies, and, where available, links to McKusick's Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man. As of 2004, no new updates are planned. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database
Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. Search by state, keyword, or broad subject, including privary, discrimination, commercialization, screening, and more. [more]
NCBI Databases Site Map
A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney.
Lists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
JournalsJournals for Genetics
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Genetics
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Genetics
Evaluation of Genomic Applications in Practice and Prevention (EGAPP)
Applies evidence-based principles to the evaluation of genetic testing with an eye toward analytic validity, clinical validity and clinical utility of genetic testing for disorders such as depression and various forms of cancer. Funded by the Center for Disease Control.
Human Genome Resources Guide
Provides overview and access to available genome resource databases provided by NCBI(National Center for Biotechnology Information). Databases include Entrez, OMIM,Sagemap ,GeneMapand Locus Link.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Also Known as: NCBI
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.
Also Known as: Pharmacogenomics Knowledge Base
PharmGKB collects, encodes, and disseminates knowledge about the impact of human genetic variations on drug response. It curates primary genotype and phenotype data, annotates gene variants and gene-drug-disease relationships via literature review, and summarizes important PGx genes and drug pathways.
Who Named It?
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Genetics
Tips for finding books
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Diagnosis, clinical description, management, genetic counseling and information resources on genetic disorders from the University of Washington - Seattle GeneTests website.
Genes and Disease
Genetics for Surgeons
2nd edition, 2002.
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Human Molecular Genetics - NLM
2nd ed, 1999.
Molecular Biology of the Cell
The 4th edition can be searched, but not browsed online. The 5th edition and accompanying DVD are on reserve at the Health Sciences Library Circulation Desk. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.
OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
McKusick's definitive catalog of genetic disorders.