Arts & Humanities : Foreign Language & Literature : Francophone Languages & Literatures
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Databases for ArticlesDatabases
Databases for Francophone Languages & Literatures
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]
MLA International Bibliography
MLA indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. [more]
Supported by the Ministère de l'éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche and l'université Lumière Lyon 2, PERSEE is similar to JSTOR in providing full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal.) Although the masthead identifies these as "scientific journals", they are French language academic journals in all subject areas. [more]
Revues.org is an open source repository of French journals in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to searching the collection of journals, the site provides background information on each journal listed.
ARTFL Project is a collection of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from 13th through the 20th centuries. [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Francophone Languages & Literatures
French Studies Web
The French Studies Web provides access to scholarly web resources covering France, and the francophone regions in Belgium, Canada, Switzerland, North Africa, Sub Saharan Africa, North America and the Caribbean.
Gallica is the gateway to the digital collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Here you will find hundreds of journals, books, photographs, online exhibits. Click on Recherche to search or browse contents.
Portals to the World
Portals to the World contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.
Voice of the Shuttle Web Site for Humanities Research
Started in 1994, Voice of the Shuttle is a large database of websites that support research in the humanities.
eBooks / BooksDictionaries
Books and E-Books
Oxford Reference Online -- Pocket Dictionaries
Small dictionaries: French-English-French, Spanish-English-Spanish, German-English-German, Irish-English-Irish, Italian-English-Italian, Welsh-English-Welsh
Tips for finding books
Bibliothèque nationale de France
The website of the national library of France provides access to a variety of library catalogs, digital exhibits and collections, and cultural news.
Library and Archives Canada
The website of the national library and archives of Canada provides access to library catalogs and digital collections.