Arts & Humanities : Foreign Language & Literature

Databases for Articles

Databases
A & H Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100336350;dbname=AHSearch&screen=advanced;done=referer;FSIP
  

Also Known as: Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Search
A & H Search is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. [more]

Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

ArticleFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=Article1st;done=referer;FSIP
  
ArticleFirst is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 16,000 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date. [more]

DigiZeitschriften
http://www.digizeitschriften.de/index.php?id=64&L=2
  

Also Known as: Das Deutsche Digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv

ECO: Electronic Collections Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=ECO;done=referer;FSIP
  
ECO: Electronic Collections Online contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Full-text (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU libraries also subscribe in print format. [more]

GenderWatch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTM4M2QmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=45247
  
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues. [more]

Google Scholar CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htm
  
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ibh
  
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.brepolis.net
  
IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

L'Annee Philologique Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
  
L'Annee Philologique covers all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. It covers a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more. [more]

Literary Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
  
Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. [more]

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa3.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=llba
  
Assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. [more]

MLA International Bibliography Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/initCritRefSearch.do?listType=mla
  
MLA indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. [more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
  
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]

Journals

Journals for Foreign Language & Literature
Browse Journals on Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=art.lit
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Websites
Global Gateway: Wolrd Culture & Resources
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html
  
From the Library of Congress, Global Gateways provides access to collaborative digital collections and exhibits, research guides with numerous links to international resources, and information on cultural programming and funding opportunities in support of international studies.

iLoveLanguages
http://www.ilovelanguages.com/index.php
  
iLoveLanguages provides links to numerous resources for many languages: dictionaries, translators, language learning resources, cultural information.

Intute: Arts and Humanities
http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/
  
Intute is an online service providing access to the best Web resources for education and research, selected and evaluated by a network of subject specialists. There are over 21,000 Web resources listed here that are freely available by keyword searching and browsing.

Portals to the World
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
  
Portals to the World contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.

Voice of the Shuttle Web Site for Humanities Research
http://vos.ucsb.edu/
  
Started in 1994, Voice of the Shuttle is a large database of websites that support research in the humanities.

eBooks / Books

Books/E-books
Europeana
http://www.europeana.eu/
  

Google Book Search
http://books.google.com
  
Google Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]

The European Library
http://search.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/en/index.html
  
The European Library searches the content of European national libraries, including digital collections from member libraries. [more]

Dictionaries
Oxford Reference Online -- Pocket Dictionaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/SUBJECT_SEARCH.html?subject=s16
  
Small dictionaries: French-English-French, Spanish-English-Spanish, German-English-German, Irish-English-Irish, Italian-English-Italian, Welsh-English-Welsh

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog