Science & Technology : Food Science & Nutrition

Core Resources

Additional resources can be found at: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/subjects/nutrition/default.htm.

Databases for Articles
  • CABDirect- Index to journal literature in all agriculture related disciplines including nutrition.
  • Food Science and Technology Abstracts- Provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. Coverage includes basic food sciences, food-related human nutrition, biotechnology, hygiene and toxicology, engineering, packaging, and all individual foods and food products. Sources for FSTA include more than 2,200 journals, books, reviews, conference proceedings, patents, standards, and legislation.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)- A comprehensive database of chemical literature including patents and the CAS Registry with information on over 18 million substances. 1907-date with selected coverage back to 1878.

    More Databases for Articles...

Databases for Articles

Databases for Food Science & Nutrition
AGRICOLA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=AGRICOLA;done=referer;FSIP
  
Comprehensive coverage of worldwide literature on agriculture and related subjects. From the National Agriculture Library. [more]

CABDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://217.154.120.06/CABDIRECT/select-database.nsp
  

Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI
Comprehensive international coverage of agriculture and veterinary sciences. Includes all items listed in Index Veterinarius, Animal Breeding Abstracts, Dairy Science Abstracts, Global Health, and 23 other abstracts journals covering all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Links to fulltext are available for some recent articles. NOTE: to search older literature 1900-1972, mark both CAB ABSTRACTS and CAB ABSTRACTS ARCHIVE before beginning to search. [more]

Faculty of 1000 (Biology) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.f1000biology.com
  
An online literature awareness service that highlights and reviews the most interesting published papers in the biological sciences based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading reseachers. After reading the article review, use Findit@MU to locate the original article. To see which papers by Local MU authors have been selected/reviewed, use this link. [more]

Food Science and Technology Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=fsta
  

Also Known as: FSTA
Provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. Coverage includes basic food sciences, food-related human nutrition, biotechnology, hygiene and toxicology, engineering, packaging, and all individual foods and food products. Sources for FSTA include more than 2,200 journals, books, reviews, conference proceedings, patents, standards, and legislation. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scirus
http://www.scirus.com
  
A web search engine optimized for scientific content. Target preprints, scientist or company homepages, patents, or conferences. However, subscriptions or credit card payments are required to view much of the journal content. From Elsevier Scientific Publishing. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Food Science & Nutrition
Browse Journals on Food Science and Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=bio.foodscitech
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog