Arts & Humanities : Film
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Film
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]
Art Full Text
Art Full Text provides citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. [more]
Complete Index to World Film
This catalog of over 300,000 films produced worldwide from 1890-2001 provides credits, production information, and references to reviews. [more]
Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]
FIAF indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals. [more]
Film Literature Index
FLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]
Access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information from Lexis-Nexis. To be used only for educational purposes. [more]
LION: Literature Online
Also Known as: Lion database
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]
Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. [more]
Movie Review Query Engine
Also Known as: MRQE
MRQE collects reviews, news, interviews, movie blogs, and other material associated with specific movies.
New York Times Movie Reviews
Also Known as: NTY Movie Reviews
Search this free archive of movie reviews from 1960 to the present, including a selection of earlier reviews back to 1929.
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]
JournalsJournals for Film
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Visual and Performing Arts
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Film
9th Street Video
Now located at 10 Hitt Street, 9th Street Video has one of the most extensive collections of films in Missouri. Call 875-4112 to check availability.
ASC Media Library
The Academic Support Center maintains a library of over 9000 videos and 5000 films. These are available for overnight rental or may be viewed at the Academic Support Center.
Film and TV Information
The British Film Institute provides links to a variety of databases, publications, and other resources.
"ScreenSite facilitates the teaching and research of film/TV/new media and is designed principally for educators and students." It provides links, a blog, calls for papers and creative work, and information on jobs, programs, syllabi.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Film
Tips for finding books
Approaches to Research
From the British Film Institute, "A step-by-step introduction to the process of carrying out and presenting your own research aimed at students new to film and media study."
BFI Film and TV Database
Search for information about film and TV titles, organizations, events, and people internationally, from the beginning of film production to the present.
BFI National Library Book Catalogue
Search for materials at the British Film Institute library, a collection of over 50,000 items on film and television worldwide. Materials not available via MERLIN, MOBIUS, or WorldCat may be requested through ILL@MU.
Research: The Essential Guide
From the British Film Institute, "A guide to research methodologies produced for teachers of film and media."
Simply Scripts provides links to scripts and transcripts of movies, and televisiona nd radio programs.