Health & Medicine : Evidence Based Medicine
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
- Evidence Updates
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
More Databases for Articles...
- Effective Health Care from AHRQ
- MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
- PubMed Clinical Q&A
More Other Resources Online...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Evidence Based Medicine
Also Known as: ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A
An experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]
Cochrane Methodology Register
With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. [more]
Cochrane Renal Health Library
A free subset of the fee based Cochrane Database, this resource contains all the nephrology-related systematic reviews and in-process protocols from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. It also contains the nephrology-related trials from the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. In addition, over 150 non-Cochrane meta-analyses and diagnostic systematic reviews are included.
Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) in Rehabilitation from Queen's University
Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) prepared by students in the School of Rehabilitation, Queen's University in Canada. Each Critically Appraised Topic, or CAT, represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational and physical therapy interventions with an eye toward developing a clinical bottom line.. CATS are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. Browse or search by keyword.
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club
The complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE so that articles which have been reviewed for these sources will contain an additional link: Article Review. Since a new limit, "EBM Reviews", has been added to MEDLINE, often the best way to search for these reviews is from MEDLINE. But connecting directly to EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club permits targeting particular kinds of studies,e.g. therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology, etc; or searching the complete text of each article review, including references, captions and footnotes. EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club is also fully integrated with the Ovid full text collections, meaning it is often possible to view the complete text of the primary article b [more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]
Encyclopedia of Research Design
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design
An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed.
Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource Page
Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine .
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of Nursing
Twelve award winning "how-to" articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers.
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. [more]
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database
Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlus
Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)
From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects.
OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics
Each CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales.
Search for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. [more]
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]
PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican's information & education resource
Synthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library. Please logout when finished.
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search evidence based medicial topics from 61 EBM sites around the world, including ACP Journal Club, POEMS, Bandolier, DARE, and others. From the Centre for Research Support in Wales. Register for a free password and choose University of Missouri - Columbia in your settings to view links and ordering options for primary research articles. [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Evidence Based Medicine
ACR Appropriateness Criteria from the American College of Radiology
Search and view evidence based guidelines on diagnostic imaging, interventional radiology, and radiation oncology, developed by expert panels on over 170 topics. Personal use is limited to research, scientific, and informational purposes.
Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.
Cochrane Collaboration Consumer Network
Includes summaries of Cochrane reviews written for patients.
Controlled Trials from History
A chronological listing of early clinical trials published from biblical times through the mid-twentieth century, often with commentaries. Links to complete text or key passages, portraits, biographical information, and teaching materials are included for some of the trials. From the James Lind Library, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh.
Effective Health Care from AHRQ
Also Known as: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Effective Health Care
Evaluation of Genomic Applications in Practice and Prevention (EGAPP)
Applies evidence-based principles to the evaluation of genetic testing with an eye toward analytic validity, clinical validity and clinical utility of genetic testing for disorders such as depression and various forms of cancer. Funded by the Center for Disease Control.
Evidence-Based Veterinary Medical Association (EBVMA)
Information on incorporating priniciples of Evidence-Based Medicine into the veterinary profession.
Also Known as: healthevidence ca ; health evidence ca ; health-evidence canada ;healthevidence canada
Search and browse for systematic reviews in public health. Reviews have been assessed and assigned scores for methodological quality, and many have structured abstracts. From McMaster University. [more]
Hitting the Headlines Archive
Examines the research evidence behind medical newspaper stories. Commissioned by the National Health Service (UK). Archived material; Hitting the Headlines is no longer a live service provided by the National Library for Health.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
New Cochrane Reviews
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Collected reviews from the Journal of Family Practice Journal Club. Each month, the JFP Journal Club applies the principles of evidence-based medicine to select 8 of the most clinically applicable articles from over 90 journals in every clinical specialty.
PROSPERO Intenational Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews
Also Known as: meta analyis registry
PubMed Clinical Q&A
Also Known as: Pubmed Clinical Q & A; Pubmed clinical questions & answers
Provides evidence based answers to common clinical questions. Currently the focus is on comparing classes of drugs in the treatment of common conditions such as hypertension, ADHD, asthma, hyperlipidemia, Alzheimer's, pain, and more.
A collection of clinical effectiveness reviews and other resources to help consumers and clinicians use and understand clinical research results. These are drawn from the NCBI Bookshelf and PubMed, including published systematic reviews from organizations such as the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, the UK National Institute for Clinical Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Collaboration. Think of it as an "executive summary" of PubMed studies/findings.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Evidence Based Medicine
Tips for finding books
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Painless Evidence-Based Medicine
Also Known as: Painless EBM
Contents include evaluating articles on therapy, diagnosis, harm, prognosis, and systematic reviews. Also includes information performing literature searches to support evidence-based practice.
Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis
Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method
Also Known as: Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method
Surgical Treatment: Evidence-Based and Problem Oriented
The rational clinical examination : evidence-based clinical diagnosis
Also Known as: rational clinical exam jama
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.
Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practice
Also Known as: users guide to the medical literature ; user guide to the medical literature
Access is limited to one user at a time.