Business & Economics : Business : Entrepreneurship and Small Business

Databases for Articles

Databases for Entrepreneurship and Small Business
ABI/Inform Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE3MjErMysxNkJD&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as:
ABI/Inform is the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry. [more]

American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/
  
This site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -"Fact Sheet" for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -"People" to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -"Housing" to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -"Business and Government" for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more.

Business and Company Resource Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=BCRC
  
Includes company financial reports, market share data, product lines, company histories, and industry overviews, in addition to magazine articles from 1980-date. [more]

Business Source Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=buh
  
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. [more]

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?xsid=S003Wvj0XNyMTZyMTApMDAqNDAvNXmm5DFHY96oYqZlNFFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB
  
Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only. [more]

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic
  
Access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information from Lexis-Nexis. To be used only for educational purposes. [more]

Small Business Resource Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=SBRC
  
Small Business Resource Center covers all major areas of starting and operating a business including financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting and taxes. Access provided by MOREnet.

Marketing Data
Mintel Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://academic.mintel.com
  
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you will then be asked to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include either the "missouri.edu or mizzou.edu" domain [e.g. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @mac.co [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Business Plans
Business Plans and Profiles Index
http://www.carnegielibrary.org/research/business/bplansindex.html
  
From the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, this lists types of small businesses along with sample business plans or profiles. The plans are either available online (and will be highlighted) or in the title indicated by italics. Note: the books may or may not be held by MU. Check availability via MERLIN at http://mulibraries.missouri.edu or ask at the Reference Desk.

eBooks / Books

Business Plans
Business Plans Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3439799999&q=morenetuomcolum
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog