Health & Medicine : Consumer Health
Be sure to check out our newly updated guide to consumer health resources, accessible from the main page of the library website!Databases for Articles
- Consumer Health Complete- Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson's Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet.
- Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions- The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions
- MedlinePlus- The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information.
More Databases for Articles...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Consumer Health
A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]
Consumer Health Complete
Indexes about 2600 popular magazines, with complete text available for about 1/3 of the titles. Coverage for most magazines begins with 1993. Of particular interest is the inclusion of the complete text for over 600 consumer health pamplets. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]
Nursing Home Compare
Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist.
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Consumer Health
24 Languages Project
Written & audio translations for over 200 consumer health information pamphlets in 24 languages, including Croatian, Hmong, Laotian, Russian, Arabic, Chinese, Korean, and more.
About Clinical Trials
Provides information about current clinical trials at the University of Missouri Health Care. Includes a sign up form questionnaire for consumers interested in possibly participating in a trial.
About Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
Provides evaluative information on herbal and botanical therapies, including potential benefits/problems, interactions, adverse effects and constituents. Patient summaries are also available. From the Integrative Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Free registration required.
ACOR (Association of Cancer Online Resources Inc.)
Creates, produces, hosts and manages a very large number of specific online resources for cancer patients, caregivers, healthcare professionals and basic research scientists.
Alice! Columbia University's Health Education Program
Healthwise is the Health Education and Wellness Program of Columbia University. Healthwise contains information on drug and alcohol concerns, sexual health, nutrition & diet, emotional well-being and general health. It also contains an interactive question and answer health line.
Alliance of Genetic Support Groups
A directory of support groups for people with genetic disorders and their families. Includes many rare diseases.
AMA Doctor Finder
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.
American Indian Health
Provides links to Web sites, documents, databases, and other resources of interest to Native Americans. From the National Library of Medicine.
America's Top Doctors
Lists top doctors in various specialties according to a variety of criteria that includes physician nomination of other physicians. Some information is free, but the majority is fee-based.
America's Top Hospitals
Top hospitals are listed on this site that accompanies America's Top Doctors. Some information is available for free, but the majority is fee-based.
Fee-based online referral service that operates and provides information based on the question of, "Which doctors would other doctors go to if they needed treatment for themselves or a loved one?"
Breast Cancer Information
Breast cancer information from the United States Department of Health and Human Services for patients, families, caregivers and survivors of breast cancer.
Self described as, "Europe's leading cancer information service, with over 4,500 pages of up-to-date cancer information..." This charitable UK organization founded by physician and cancer patient, Dr. Vicky Clement-Jones, has been providing cancer information to cancer patients and their families since 1985. Search for information by cancer type, therapy, or over 1000 Frequently Asked Questions about cancer. All text is reviewed regularly and approved by CancerBACUP's medical editor, a medical oncologist.
CAPHIS Top 100 Health Websites You Can Trust
This list of 100 health websites have been reviewed for quality by members of the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association.
ChoiceTrust: Health Pulse
This fee-based service provides background information including disciplinary action for physicians, chiropractors, and doctors.
Cochrane Collaboration Consumer Network
Includes summaries of Cochrane reviews written for patients.
Consumer's Checkbook: Guide to Health Care
A listing of top doctors and hospitals is available through this service. Online inforrmation is only available to subscribers. A print edition of the title is available at the library, HSL Ref W22.AA1.C758.
Also Known as: destinationrx;destinationrx.com
DIPEx: Database of Individual Patient Experiences
Patients describe their illness experiences and the impact of disease on their lives through video and audio clips. The following diseases are currently included: breast, prostate, colorectal and testicular cancer, hypertension, epilepsy, congenital heart disease, and abnormal pap smear, with plans to expand to include 100 diseases. A United Kingdom-based nonprofit site.
Directory of America's Hospitals
From U.S. News and World Report and the American Hospital Association. Search by name, location, specialty services or equipment offered. Includes information on staff size and patient volume.
This site, created by the National Library of Medicine, is a search engine for organizations. Users can search a specific disease and find organizations that deal with that disease.
Also Known as: drugdigest
Produced by the ExpressScripts Corporation, this site provides general information about drugs, vitamins, herbal medicines and their side effects, including the percentage of patients that experience different side effects. A special "Drug Interactions" tool lets you check to see if the drugs you are taking are safely taken together. Compare Drugs shows drugs with similar actions for common conditions such as hypertension, depression, and more. Drug information provided by Gold Standard.
Contains articles written by physicians for patients and consumers. These articles are reviewed by two physicians and a PharmD.
Also Known as: fair health consumer; fairhealth consumer
Compare customary charges for medical and dental services nationwide. Browse by procedure or search by CPT code.
Family and Community Health Information
Articles produced by the Outreach & Extension Office of the University of Missouri.
Find-a-healthcare provider at University of Missouri Hospitals & Clinics
Search by name, medical specialty or physician interest.
Google Consumer Support Groups
The Google Web Directory includes an extensive list of online support groups.
Guide to Patient and Visitor Services
Online guide for patients and visitors of University of Missouri Health Care. Includes information about topics such as visiting hours, checking in and checking out and patients rights and responsibilities.
Healia is a search engine in beta format designed to locate consumer health information. This specialized tool offers some unique features including filters to limit by age, gender, heritage, or reading ability. The National Cancer Institute provided funding to develop the search engine technology which attempts to rank results based both on relevancy and quality of content.
Search for physicians, dentists, naturopathic physicians, acupuncturists, hospitals, emergency services, birth centers, mammography facilities, assisted living facilities by name, city/state/zip. Includes addresses, brief profile information and driving directions. Also includes "hospital report cards" on various cardiovascular, neurologic, orthopedic, and pulmonary procedures and diagnoses, as well as report cards for nursing homes, hospices, fertility clinics, and home health agencies based on explicitly stated methodologic criteria.
Health Guide A-Z: Medical Tests
Information about medical tests designed for health consumers and patients. Normal lab values are presented along with information about how to prepare for tests and results interpretation.
Health News Review
A multidisciplinary team of doctors, journalists and health researchers reviews health reports from major newspapers and television outlets. A star rating is assigned based on 10 criteria from the Health News Review's standardized ratings system. From the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making. Search by Keyword, date, or media outlet.
Healthcare Blue Book
Also Known as: healthcare blue book; health care bluebook; health care bluebook;
Compare prices for medical procedures, tests, hearing aids, and other health care services. Includes an option to enter your ZIP code to compare prices for nearby doctors & hospitals.
Connects health consumers and patients with information on quality, affordable health insurance options in their community.
A gateway consumer health information web site from the United States government that leads to selected online publications, databases, web sites,and support groups, as well as government agencies.
Hitting the Headlines Archive
Examines the research evidence behind medical newspaper stories. Commissioned by the British National Health Service National Electronic Library for Health. Prepared by the University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination. Learn more
Compare how hospitals measure up to one another in their treatment of patients with heart attack, heart failure, or pneumonia based on selected benchmarks. From the Department of Health and Human Services in collaboration with the Hospital Quality Alliance.
How to Order National Institutes of Health Publications In Non-English Languages
Shows which consumer health publications from NIH are available in translation. Most are in Spanish; a few have Asian language translations available.
Intelihealth- Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary
Intelihealth-Drug Resource Center
Search for drug information produced by Johns Hopkins and the USPDI Advice for the Patient.
Contains articles, information, and numerous message board on a variety of health-related topics. You may read message boards freely, but you must register to post to message boards.
Life Choices: Understanding the importance of planning now for your needs at the end of life
Missouri Attorney General's Office and the Missouri End of Life Coalition partnered to create this 36-page booklet providing information for Missouri consumers about health care decisions and issues regarding the end of life.
A health information portal for health consumers. Information includes first aid guide, drug information, conditions A-Z and health decision guides.
Medicare Nursing Homes
A free database of Medicaid and Medicare nursing homes.
Medicare Participating Physician Directory
A free database of physicians that accept Medicare patients.
Based on ASHP's Medication Teaching Manual: The Guide to Patient Drug Information.
Definitions of medical terms written in lay language from the physicians who wrote Webster's New World Medical Dictionary.
MU Healthcare Performance Measures
Also Known as: Mu health quality of care ; muhealth quality ; mu health care quality
See how MU Health Care compares to other hospitals in Missouri and nationwide on quality metrics in cardiovascular, pneumonia, surgical, emergency, and preventive care; hospital acquired infections, and use of imaging technologies. From the MU Health Care Quality of Care website.
National Council Against Health Fraud
A non-profit, tax-exempt, voluntary health agency committed to providing information on health fraud, misinformation and quackery. Contains a library of publications on questionable health-related topics.
Natural Health Encyclopedia (via Personal Health Zone)
The TNP Natural Health Encyclopedia contains extensive science-based information on health conditions, their natural remedies, and drug interactions.
Produced as a cooperative effort of the University of Cincinnati, Ohio State and Case Western Reserve, this site is the premier non-profit health question and answer site on the web.
The New York Online Access to Health site provides copious links to health resources. A specialty of this site is the inclusion of Spanish resources.
NSW Multicultural Health Information Service
Patient and health information handouts in about 60 languages, including Arabic, Maori, Tongan, Urdu, and many more. From New South Wales, Australia.
Cancer information resources of interest to health professionals and patients.
Online Medical Dictionary
This easily-searchable medical dictionary is offered as a service of Cancerweb.
Partnership for Prescription Assistance
A list of pharmaceutical companies which provide free or discounted drugs to needy patients. From the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association.
Consumer health information from Great Britain. The site contains almost 700 leaflets on health and disease. Other notable features include information about medicine, tests, and more in depth articles written for health professionals
Pill Identifier from drugs.com
Identify prescription and OTC drugs by shape, color and/or text imprint. The content comes from Micromedex and the Physician's Desk Reference. Drugs.com is funded through advertising support.
Pillbox - Prototype Pill Identification System
Identify a pill by color, shape, size, score or ingredients in a visual database. Brought to you and funded by a joint effort of National Libraries of Medicine (NLM) and the FDA. Drug information on every pill links to NLM's Drug Information Portal, Drug Label data links to DailyMed.
Polyglot 3.0 is a "Multimedia Medical Spanish & English Translator" brought to you by the North Carolina Area Health Education Center in cooperation with Topsail Technologies, Inc. Arranged in practical categories, this tool offers phrases in English & Spanish useful for medical & law enforcement personnel. Also includes audio translations.
RHIN - Refugee Health Information Network
Health information and services for both refugees and health providers. Information is available in 70 languages.
Self Care Flowcharts
These flowcharts from the American Academy of Family Physicians guide patients and healthcare consumers through common medical problems such as headache, fever, nausea etc.
Solucient Top Hospitals
Studies by this group rank hospitals according to topical area such as cardiovascular, stroke or orthopaedic service. The unranked lists are free online and are available in complete form in the periodical Modern HealthCare or with a fee on the site.
Undiagnosed Diseases Program
A clinical research venture from several NIH institutes designed advance research and provide answers to patients with longstanding medical conditions that have eluded diagnosis.
VIPPS-Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites
The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy developed VIPPS in 1999 in response to public concern about the safety of pharmacy practices on the Internet. The public is welcome to search for a VIPPS Internet pharmacy that matches their needs.
Virtual Pediatric Hospital, University of Iowa
A collection of textbooks and images for pediatricians and their patients. Especially strong in radiology and imaging. Formerly part of the Virtual Hospital.
Features include a medical library with A-Z list of diseases and conditions, medical tests and more.
Your Guide to Choosing Quality Health Care
A guide to choosing a physician, hospital and other health care services is provided by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Consumer Health
Tips for finding books
The Merck Manual of Medical Information: Home Edition
Based upon the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, this guide is written for consumers and patients.