Engineering Library & Technology Commons Engineering Library & Technology Commons Gateway MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Engineering : Computer Science

Databases for Articles

Databases for Computer Science
ACM Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://portal.acm.org/dl.cfm
  
ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations. [more]

Google Scholar CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htm
  
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]

IEEE Xplore Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/periodicals.jsp
  
Full-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. [more]

INSPEC Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=insz
  
INSPEC is a major source of information for physics, electrical engineering, computer science and information science and technology. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTUzZSszYjEwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
Contains more than 1.2 million citations, with abstracts (since 1980) to dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and more than 200 institutions elsewhere. It corresponds to Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI), American Doctoral Dissertations (ADD), and Comprehensive Dissertation Index (CDI), as well as to the online Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertation Abstracts also contains citations, with abstracts (since 1988), to masters' theses corresponding to the coverage in Masters Abstracts (MA) Dissertation coverage includes approximately 3,000 subject areas, as well as masters theses and some dissertations from Canadian and overseas institutions. [more]

Journals

Journals for Computer Science
Browse Journals on Computer Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=comp
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Computer Science
BABEL : A Glossary of Computer Oriented Abbreviations and Acronyms
http://www.geocities.com/ikind_babel/babel/babel.html
  
"If it is Computer Oriented and if it doesn't have an Acronym, then it doesn't exist"..Anonymous

CiteSeerX (beta)
http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/
  
Digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerX aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures (NIST)
http://www.nist.gov/dads/
  
This is a dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions. Algorithms include common functions, such as Ackermann's function. Problems include traveling salesman and Byzantine generals.

LibX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/libx.htm
  
LibX MU Libraries is a Firefox/IE extension that provides direct access to MU Libraries resources from whatever web page you are on. Note: LibX was written for Firefox version 3 and works best in Firefox 3 or higher.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Computer Science
Computer Sciences. Roger R. Flynn, ed. Vol. 1: Foundations: Ideas and People Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/linker?template=slinks:redirect&title=Computer+Sciences&rfr_id=&provider=galegroup&pkgName=gvrl&jHome=http%3A%2F%2Ffind.galegroup.com%2Fgvrl%2Finfomark.do%3Ftype%3DaboutBook%26docId%3DCX3401299999%26prodId%3DGVRL%26version%3D1.0%26userGroupName%3Dmorenetuomcolum%26source%3Dgale
  
Gale Virtual Reference Library. Discusses computer science concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. Explores the impact of computers on society, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends. Includes illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, filmographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary. For general audiences.

Dictionary of Computing Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t11&subject=s4
  
Oxford Reference Collection. Comprehensive reference work encompassing over 6,500 entries on all aspects of computing with coverage of networking and databases, feature entries on key topics, e.g. XML, as well as biographical entries Contains coverage of computer terms in industry, school, work, education, and the home, including the Internet, multimedia, networks and databases, and security. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computing and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, and natural sciences.

Ebrary - Electronic Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia
  
A comprehensive collection of over 2000 full-text computer and engineering handbooks, manuals, and other authoritative technical content, 80% of which were published in the last four years. Key subject areas include Computer Science, Electronics,Engineering, Information Technology & Systems, Materials Science, Math/Statistics, Programming, and Telecommunications. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science / editor-in-chief, Lynn Nadel.
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b4871174~S8&searchscope=0
  
v. 1. Academic achievement-environmental psychology -- v. 2. Epilepsy-mental imagery, philosophical issues about -- v. 3. Mental models-signal detection theory -- v. 4. Similarity-zombies. This four-volume set brings together the ... various disciplines that contribute to the study of minds and brains, whether human, animal, or artificial. The approximately 700 articles cover the core disciplines of psychology, philosophy, linguistics, computer science, and neuroscience, as well as related areas in education, economics, evolutionary biology, and anthropology. Suitable for undergraduates and up, the articles are written on different levels depending on the topic, ranging from introductory overviews to in-depth, technical material. The pieces are well organized and scholarly, with numerous references and suggestions for further reading. The last volume contains a 40-page glossary and an extensive subject index. Like The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences, this set fills a nee

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog