Research Guides by Subject
Arts & Humanities
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Classics
- Communication
- English Language & Literature
- American Literature
- Medieval Literature
- Modern and Contemporary Literature
- Nineteenth Century Literature
- Renaissance Literature
- Restoration and 18th Century Literature
- Film
- Foreign Language & Literature
- Francophone Languages and Literatures
- Italian Language and Literature
- Lusophone Languages and Literatures
- Spanish Language and Literatures
- History
- Historical Newspapers
- History of the British Empire
- U.S. History (recent)
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religious Studies
- Theatre
Business & Economics
Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Computer Science
- Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Engineering, General
- Environmental Science & Engineering
- Geological & Geotechnical Engineering
- Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering
- Materials Science
- Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
- Nuclear Science & Engineering
- Transportation
Health & Medicine
- Alternative Medicine
- Anatomy
- Anesthesiology
- Biomedical Informatics
- Cardiology/Vascular Disease
- Communicable Diseases
- Communication Disorders
- Consumer Health
- Dermatology
- Education, Medical
- Emergency Medicine
- Endocrinology
- Epidemiology
- Ethics, Medical
- Evidence Based Medicine
- Family Practice
- Gastroenterology
- Genetics
- Gynecology/Obstetrics
- Health Care Management
- Hematology
- History of Medicine
- Medicine
- Microbiology & Immunology
- Nephrology/Urology
- Neurosciences
- Nursing
- Occupational Therapy
- Oncology
- Ophthalmology
- Orthopedics
- Otolaryngology
- Pathology
- Pediatrics
- Pharmacology
- Pharmacy
- Physical Therapy
- Physiology
- Psychiatry
- Public Health
- Pulmonary Disease
- Radiology
- Rheumatology
- Surgery
- Tests/Lab Diagnosis
- Toxicology
- Veterinary Medicine
Journalism
Science & Technology
Social Sciences
Subject Librarians
Michael Muchow
(573) 882-6824
muchowm@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Art
Art History and Archaeology
Classics
Communication
Library Science
Theatre
Arts & Humanities : Communication
Core Resources
If you are unfamiliar with boolean operators use the links below to learn about them.
You will not be able to search catalogs, databases, and the internet efficiently if you do not understand how to use boolean operators.
If you do know how to use boolean operators, select the tabs to find basic resources.
Warning: The tab marked JOURNALS is a list, by title, of the online journals available from the Libraries. The list can be searched only by journal title.
Instead, search one of the databases and click
to locate full-text and print articles.
Databases for Articles
Databases for Communication
Academic Search Premier ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph![]()
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]
Communication and Mass Media Complete ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh![]()
Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. [more]
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full Text Collection ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=sagecom-set-c![]()
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full Text Collection includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Subjects covered include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies. [more]
Journals
Journals for CommunicationTips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Communications ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=socsci.comm![]()
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources Online
Other Resources Online for Communication
Boolean Operators - YouTube Video ![]()
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tm-sDKCnO4![]()
Paper Assistance - Where to brain storm topics, find articles, etc ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance.htm![]()
Tips for searching a database - Construct your search ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance.htm![]()
Tips for searching a full-text database ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/Reference/muchow/fulltextsearching.htm![]()
eBooks / Books
eBooks / Books for CommunicationTips for finding books
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028658872&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w![]()
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
- If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
- Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog
