Health & Medicine : Communicable Diseases
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Other Resources Online
- DPDx Identification and Diagnosis of Parasites of Public Health Concern
More Other Resources Online...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Communicable Diseases
Over 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]
AIDSinfo Drug Database
A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. [more]
Animal Health and Production Compendium
Focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. Search by species, breed, disease symptom, pathogen, vector, drug, country, and more. [more]
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]
Department of Defense Biomedical Research Database
Indexes Department of Defense funded research, testing and training programs in infectious diseases, biohazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense and related topics. [more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)
Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Communicable Diseases
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.
Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.
Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor's Guide Global Edition
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.
County Health Departments
Contact information for county health departments in Missouri.
DPDx Identification and Diagnosis of Parasites of Public Health Concern
Users can browse through concise reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, including an image library and a review of recommended procedures for collecting, shipping, processing, and examining biologic specimens.
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
Hardin MD Meta Directory of Medical and Disease Pictures
Links to medical pictures on the web arranged by disease and medical specialty.
HIV InSite--Gateway to AIDS Knowledge
Includes links to medical information, state by state information with current statistics, recent pertinent news, social issues, and information about prevention and education for both health professionals and consumers.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
Missouri Healthcare-Associated Infection Reporting
View and compare nosocomial infection rates for Missouri hospitals. Information on central line-associated bloodstream (CLAB) infections is available now for hospital inpatients; ambulatory surgicall centers will be added later, along with rates of surgical site infections. From the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.
Search, compare, and graph statistics for a country or region of the world. Includes many health statistics compiled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, OECD, and more.
New Cochrane Reviews
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Search, compare, and graph statistics for a state or region of the United States. Statistics are compiled from many sources, such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. Many health statistics are included.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Communicable Diseases
Tips for finding books
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Diseases
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
Harrison's Manual of Medicine
A concise companion to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.
Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Red Book: 2012 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]
UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women's Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.