Arts & Humanities : Classics

Core Resources

If you are unfamiliar with boolean operators use the links below to learn about them.
You will not be able to search catalogs, databases, and the internet efficiently if you do not understand how to use boolean operators. 

If you do know how to use boolean operators, select the tabs to find basic resources.

Warning: The tab marked JOURNALS is a list, by title, of the online journals available from the Libraries. The list can be searched only by journal title.

Instead, search one of the databases and click  FinditAtMU button   to locate full-text and print articles.

Other Resources Online
eBooks / Books

Databases for Articles

Databases for Classics
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

Dyabola CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/ellisonly.htm
  
Dyabola is an index to classical archaeology. It is an electronic version of Archaologische Bibliographe. Coverage is 1956 to date. This database is only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

L'Annee Philologique Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
  
L'Annee Philologique covers all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. It covers a broad range of subjects from language and literature to history, archaeology and more. [more]

Journals

Journals for Classics
Browse Journals on Linguistics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=ling
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Classics
Athenian Agora Excavations
http://www.agathe.gr/index.html
  

Beazley Archive - The Oxford University
http://www.beazley.ox.ac.uk/index.htm
  

Boolean Operators - YouTube Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Os6VdXOwKCo
  

Documenta Catholica Omnia
http://www.documentacatholicaomnia.eu
  

Also Known as: Multilanguage Catholic E-Books Database
[more]

Intute: Arts and Humanities
http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/
  

Paper Assistance - Where to brain storm topics, find articles, etc
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance/default.htm
  

Tips for searching a database - Construct your search
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance/articles2.htm
  

Tips for searching a full-text database
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/Reference/muchow/fulltextsearching.htm
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Classics
Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t9
  

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t231&subject=s1
  

Oxford Companion to Archaeology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t136
  

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t133
  

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t174
  

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t180&subject=s3
  

Pocket Oxford Dictionary of Latin (Latin-English) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t131a
  

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t131b
  

Who's Who in the Classical World Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t10
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog