Engineering Library & Technology Commons Engineering Library & Technology Commons Gateway MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Engineering : Civil Engineering

Databases for Articles

Databases for Civil Engineering
ASCE Research Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ascelibrary.org/
  
The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]

Compendex Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cdxb
  
Compendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=envclust-set-c
  
Abstracts and citations covering environmental sciences are drawn from over 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. [more]

Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, provides full text for over 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, geology, mathematics, mechanical engineering, and physics content going back as far as 1990. [more]

ASABE Technical Library
http://asae.frymulti.com/
  
Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]

GEOBASE Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=GEOBASE;done=referer;FSIP
  
This database indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1980 to date. [more]

GEOREF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=georef-set-c
  
GEOREF is the database of the American Geological Institute. It provides references to over 4,500 serial and other publications covering all aspects of geology and geophysics. [more]

GreenFILE
http://www.greeninfoonline.com
  
Free EBSCO database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic
  
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scirus
http://www.scirus.com
  
Scirus is a free search engine for scientific information on the web that covers journal articles, e-print archives, patents, technical reports and scientific web sites. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Technology Research Database (TRD) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=techresearch-set-c
  

Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.
TRD indexes over 4000 periodicals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is comprised of: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Ceramic Abstracts; Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Computer and Information Systems Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; Earthquake Engineering Abstracts; Electronics and Communications Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Materials Business File; Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts; Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts; WELDASEARCH [more]

Water Resources Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa3.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=waterres
  
Water Resources Abstracts covers a wide range of water resource topics including water resource economics, conservation, control, hydrology, water planning, water cycle (precipitation), snow, groundwater, lakes, erosion), and water quality (pollution, waste treatment). [more]

Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTUzZSszYjEwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts. [more]

Government Sources: Major US Government Sources
Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS)
http://trisonline.bts.gov/search.cfm
  
The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation.

NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=ntis
  
NTIS on Ovid (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]

Journals

Journals for Civil Engineering
ASCE Civil Engineering Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://cedb.asce.org/
  

Also Known as: ASCE CE Database
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. [more]

Browse Journals on Civil Engineering Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=eng.civ
  

SPIN Web Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://scitation.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ALL
  
SPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Civil Engineering
Findit@MU Article Finder for MU Libraries
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?sitePage=linkserver/advanced.html
  
Enter the journal title, volume, page and year for a specific article to link right to the complete article. If the article isn't online, link to shelf locations in campus libraries and order forms for interlibrary loan and document retrieval services.

Organizations and Associations
AISC
http://www.aisc.org/Template.cfm?Section=Home
  

Also Known as: American Institute of Steel Construction
Professional association offering news, technical resources, and conceptual solutions in steel.

American Council For Construction Education
http://www.acce-hq.org/
  

Also Known as: ACCE
Find ACCE accredited two and four year programs in construction, construction science, construction management, and construction technology.

ASCE
http://www.asce.org/asce.cfm
  

Also Known as: American Society of Civil Engineers
Professional association with members from all disciplines of civil engineering.

Civil Engineering Sites
Curtin University Civil Engineering Links
http://www.civil.eng.curtin.edu.au/links.cfm
  

iCivilEngineer
http://www.icivilengineer.com/
  
iCivilEngineer.com is a knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It includes news, career resources, and a web directory covering hundreds of technical topics.

Intute: Civil Engineering Directory
http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/cgi-bin/browse.pl?id=25646
  
Directory of Civil Engineering websites. Sites may be browsed by field or searched by keyword.

Careers and Jobs
Career Opportunities for Majors in Civil Engineering
http://careerservices.rutgers.edu/Mcivileng.html
  
Site from Rutgers University Career Services.

Discover Engineering
http://www.discoverengineering.org/
  
Created by the National Engineers Week Foundation, this site includes profiles of each of the Engineering fields.

Engineering Fields - Online Resources
https://engineering.purdue.edu/ENE/InfoFor/CurrentStudents/resources
  
Purdue University School of Engineering site.

Engineering Construction, Design and Testing
Building Big: Bridges, Domes, Skyscrapers, Dams, Tunnels
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/buildingbig/
  
Explore large structures and what it takes to build them with BUILDING BIG™, a five-part PBS television series and Web site from WGBH Boston.

Construction Leads from McGraw-Hill Dodge Construction
http://www.fwdodge.com/
  
Search Dodge reports, plans and specifications.

Construction Weblinks
http://www.constructionweblinks.com/
  
This site, provided by construction law firm Thelen Reid Brown Raysman & Steiner LLP, is designed to be the starting point for web searches by construction industry professionals. Web sites of interest to construction industry professionals are profiled and linked to. Includes organizations, industry topics, and resources.

Water Resources
Milestones of Hydrology
http://milestones.sdsu.edu/
  
Highlights 200 years of developments in hydrologic thought.

National Institutes for Water Resources (NIWR)
http://niwr.montana.edu/links/default.htm
  
NIWR represents the fifty-four state and territorial Water Research Institutes and Centers. Site offers useful links to water-related federal agencies, organizations, resources, and weather and climate information.

U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory
http://www.crrel.usace.army.mil/
  

Also Known as: CRREL
CRREL aims to advance and apply science and engineering to complex environments, materials, and processes in all seasons and climates, with unique core competencies related to the Earth's cold regions. Site includes research topics, publications, cold regions bibliography and access to the Ice Jam Database and Clearinghouse.

USGS Missouri Water Science Center
http://mo.water.usgs.gov/
  
Includes district information, maps, real-time water data, publications, and more.

USGS Water Resources of the United States
http://water.usgs.gov/
  
Provides real-time water data, water information by state, maps, software and publications.

Water Librarians Homepage
http://www.interleaves.org/~rteeter/waterlib.html
  
Includes links to major portals for water information, news, journal articles, directories and groups, reference sources and water agencies.

Water What-ifs
http://www.ncsu.edu/sciencejunction/depot/experiments/water/
  
Water What-ifs is a web site for encouraging inquiry investigations of water quality in North Carolina and Delaware.

Western Waters Digital Library
http://www.westernwater.org/
  
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) contains government reports, classic water literature, legal transcripts, water project records, personal papers, photographic collections, and video materials about the Columbia, Colorado, Platte, and Rio Grande river basins.

Wind Energy
Guided Tour on Wind Energy
http://www.windpower.org/en/tour.htm
  
Provided by the Danish Wind Industry Association. Covers design, manufacturing, economics and more.

Government Sources: Major US Government Sources
Energy Science and Technology Virtual Library (DOE) Subject Pathways
http://energyfiles.osti.gov/pathways.html
  
Energy Files is a well-rounded and well-researched collection of over 400 engery-related scientific and technical resources. This virtual library environment contains information, tools, and technologies that support the finding and use of energy-related information and the conduct of energy research. It contains research results in the areas of biology and medicine; chemistry; energy storage, conversion and utilization; engineering; environmental sciences, safety and health; fission and nuclear technologies; fossil fuels; geosciences; materials science; mathematics, computing and information science; physics; plasma physics and fusion; power transmission, distribution, and plants; and renewable energy.

Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database
http://www.epa.gov/compliance/nepa/eisdata.html
  
Search for EISs filed with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) since January 2004. [more]

National Transportation Library
http://ntl.bts.gov/
  
The NTL maintains a collection of statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels. Includes access to the NTL Integrated Search System, which searches the NTL Digital Repository, TRIS Online, and records for other web accessible transportation resources, including research and policy sites of the State DOT and University Transportation Centers' research publications and document repositories.

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Publications
http://www.usace.army.mil/search.html#Publications
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Civil Engineering
Ebrary - Electronic Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia
  
A comprehensive collection of over 2000 full-text computer and engineering handbooks, manuals, and other authoritative technical content, 80% of which were published in the last four years. Key subject areas include Computer Science, Electronics,Engineering, Information Technology & Systems, Materials Science, Math/Statistics, Programming, and Telecommunications. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]

MU CEE Dissertations
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search/d?dissertations,+academic+--+university+of+missouri+--+columbia+--+civil&extended=0&searchscope=11
  
Search MERLIN catalog for all MU CEE dissertations.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog