Related Topics
Content
Chemistry: Quick Facts
CHEMICAL CATALOGS
- Chem.com Product Catalogs
Database to chemical supplies catalogs on the web. Searchable by chemical name, CAS number, and molecular formula. - ChemExper Chemical Directory
Database of chemical suppliers. Searchable by chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula and structure. - R&D Chemicals
Directory of chemical suppliers and database of chemicals for the drug discovery industry. - OPD Search
Chemical Buyers Directory.
CHEMISTRY CALCULATIONS
- Chemical Calculations
Chemical calculation programs developed by Cambridge University professor. - Dave's Equation Balancer
Online calculator which balances equations after reactants and products are entered. - Thermo Chemical Property Estimations
Estimates Boiling Point, Critical Properties, Vapor Pressure, Density, Heat of Vaporization, Solubility Parameter, Heat Capacity, Viscosity, Hydrogen Bonding Energy, Heat of Formation, Gibbs energy, Entropy of Formation, Refractive Index, LogKow.
HANDBOOKS
- Comprehensive Organic Transformations: A Guide to Functional Group Preparations
Ellis Library Reference QD 262 .L355 1999 - Constants and Equations Pages
In addition to information on over 1000 constants and equations, this Institute of Physics sponsored site includes conversions, the periodic table and astronomical information. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ellis Library Ready Reference QD 65 .H3 - Critical Stability Constants
Ellis Library Reference QD 503 .M37 - Elemental Data Index
National Institute of Standards and Technology site provides scientific data for each element. - Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis
Ellis Library Reference QD 78 .B78 2004 - Handbook of Inorganic Chemicals
Ellis Library Reference QD 155.5 .P37 2003 - Handbook of Inorganic Compounds
Ellis Library Reference QD 155.5 .H36 1995 - Houben Weyl Methoden der Organischen Chemie
- Household Products Database
Hazardous chemical data of household products such as pesticides, cosmetics, cleaning materials, etc. Searchable by product type, ingredients, company name or product name. - March's Advanced Organic Chemistry: Reactions, Mechanisms and Structure
Ellis Library Reference QD 251.2 .M37 2007 - Name Reactions: a Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms
Ellis Library Reference QD 291 .L5 2003 - Name Reactions and Reagents in Organic Synthesis
Ellis Library Reference QD 291 .M86 2005 - Name Reactions in Heterocyclic Chemistry
Ellis Library Reference QD 400 .N34 2005 - Named Organic Reactions
Ellis Library Reference QD 291 .L3513 2005 - Organic Reaction Mechanisms
Ellis Library Reference QD 502.5 .A45 2007 - Organic Reactions
Ellis Library Reference QD 251 .O7 - Organic Syntheses
ChemDraw ActiveX Control Software (available for downloading at the site) must be installed before database is searchable. Print copy: Ellis Library Reference QD 262 .O72 - PubChem
PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. - Science of Synthesis
Provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. - Strategic Applications of Named Reactions in Organic Synthesis
Ellis Library Reference QD 262 .K48 2005 - Systematic Identification of Organic Compounds
Ellis Library Reference QD 261 .S965 2004 - WebElements Periodic Table
PHYSICAL/CHEMICAL PROPERTY DATA
- Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals
Chemical catalog searchable by text or physical properties and response includes chemical name and synonyms, CAS & EINECS numbers, physical properties and references to the Beilstein Handbook and safety data. - Beilstein Handbuch der Organischen Chemie (note: our subscription ended with Supplement 5 volume 23) Ellis Library QD 251 .B4
- ChemFinder
Database that provides information on physical properties, chemical structures and web links for specific chemicals. Searchable by chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula or weight. Requires free registration after 5 searches. - Chemical Properties Handbook
Print copy: Engineering Library Reserve TP 200 .Y35 1999 - Common Compound Library
Print copy: Ellis Library Ready Reference QD 65 .H3 - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Print copy: Ellis Library Ready Reference QD 65 .H3 - Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry
Ellis Library Reference QD 251.3 .G65 2004 - EUROSPEC: International Spectroscopic Data Bank and Archive
ICT offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties. - Infotherm
Thermophysical property data of over 6,000 pure compounds and 25,00 mixtures. - International Critical Tables
Originally published for the National Research Council between 1926 and 1930, these tables cover physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other properties in chemistry, physics, and engineering. - Knovel Critical Tables
Features tables of properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. Tables include Basic Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds, Basic Physical Properties of Organic Compounds, Critical Properties and Acentric Factor, Enthalpy of Formation, Enthalpy of Vaporization, Entropy of Formation, Entropy of Gas, Gibbs Energy of Formation, Heat Capacity of Gas, Helmholtz Energy of Formation, Internal Energy of Formation, Basic Physical Properties of Common Solvents, and Safety Properties of Common Solvents. - Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (15th Edition)
Print copy: Ellis Library Ready Reference QD 65 .L36 1992 - Material Property Data
Searchable database of material data sheets including property infomration on polymers, metals, ceramics and other engineering materials. - NBS Tables of Chemical Thermodynamic Properties: Selected Values for Inorganic and C1 and C2 Organic Substances in SI Units
Ellis Library Reference QD 504 .N5 1982 - NIST Chemistry WebBook
This National Institute of Standards and Technology database contains , electronic and vibrational spectra, constants of diatomic molecules, spectroscopic data, ion energetics data and NIST Data Gateway Searchable National Institute of Standards gateway web site which provides links to chemical and property information available from NIST. This gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase. - Organic Compounds Database
- Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (7th Edition)
MU Print copy: Engineering Library Reserve TP 151 .P45 1997 - Physical Properties on the Internet
Gateway site to physical property data information on the web. Feature of the Chemical Engineer's Resource Page. - Properties of Gases and Liquids
Ellis Library Reference TP 242 .R4 1987 (note: 2001 edition is on reserve at the Engineering Library) - PubChem
NCBI database that provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Includes biological property information. Searchable by name, keywords and structure. - SIRCh: Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry
Wiki maintained by Indiana University. - Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
- Thermodex
Index of selected thermodynamic data handbooks. Site contains both printed resources and Web sites.
SPECTRAL DATA
- Handbook of Organic Compounds NIR, IR, Raman and UV-Vis Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants
Ellis Library Reference QC 462.85 .H36 2001 (3 volumes) - Handbook of Proton-NMR Spectra and Data
Ellis Library Reference QC 762 .H33 (10 volumes) - Infrared Spectra of Inorganic Compounds
Ellis Library Reference QC 457 .N93 1971 - NIST Chemistry WebBook
This National Institute of Standards and Technology database contains IR spectra , mass spectra , UV/Vis spectra , electronic and vibrational spectra. NMRShiftDB Open access database for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (currently only for carbon) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. - SDBS (Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds)
SDBS, provided by the National Institute of Materials and Chemical Research (Japan) is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds. Includes IR, NMR and mass spectra. - Sigma Aldrich
Provides FT-NMR and FT-IR Raman spectra for many chemicals. - Spectra and Spectral Data Reference Sources
University at Buffalo guide to print and online resources. - Structure Determination of Organic Compounds: Tables of Spectral Data
Ellis Library Reference QC 462.85 .T313 2000 - Wiley/NBS Registry of Mass Spectral Data
Ellis Library Reference QC 454 .M3M395 1989 (7 volumes)
TABLES
- Pictorial Periodic Table
Provides extensive information on each element. Site is searchable by properties and keywords. - Table of Isotopes
Ellis Library Reference QD 601.2 .F57 (1999) CD-ROM located at Ellis Library Reserve Desk. - WebElements
Web version of Periodic Table with information on each element.
Last updated: 5/2/08