Chemistry: People and Organizations
Biographical Information
- 4000 Years of Women in Science
Emphasis is on pre-20th century women.
- American Men and Women of Science
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .A472
- American Women in Science 1950 to the Present
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .B254
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .B526 1994
- Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .B5285 2000
- Black Women Scientists in the United States
Ellis Library Reference QH 141 .W367 1999
- Blacks in Science and Medicine
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .B58 1990
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .D5
- Eric Weisstein's Treasure Trove of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name or discipline.
- Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Includes biographical information and bibliographies.
- History of Astronomy: Persons
Provides links to biographical data on astronomers.
- Internet Public Library: Scientists and Inventors Resources
- Provides links to scientific biographical information on the Web.
- ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories. Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
- Nobel e-Museum
Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.
- Nobel Prize Internet Archive
Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.
- Notable Black American Scientists
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .N726 1999
- Notable Scientists from 1900 to the Present
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .N728 2001
- Notable Women in the Life Sciences
Ellis Library Reference QH 26 .N68 1996
- Persons in Astronomy
Searchable database of astronomy people and institutions.
- Prominent Scientists: An Index to Collective Biographies
Ellis Library Reference Q 141 .P398 1994
DIRECTORIES
- ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR)
This American Chemical Society directory provides information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the United States and Canada. The DGR provides names and biographies of faculty as well as departmental statistics on postdoctoral appointments, master's and doctoral degrees that were granted, and the number of full- and part-time faculty and graduate students.
- Chemists in the Academic World
Listings by name and location. Not comprehensive.
- Chemistry 2000
Worldwide listing of college and university chemistry departments
- ChemSoc
An online searchable directory of chemistry societies worldwide.
- Community of Science Expertise Database
Only Database which contains almost half a million profiles of faculty researchers and their interests and expertise. Includes email addresses and publications. American Chemical Society directory of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the United States and Canada
ORGANIZATIONS