Science & Technology : Chemistry

Core Resources

Additional resources for Chemistry can be found at: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/subjects/chemistry/default.htm.

Databases for Articles
eBooks / Books

Databases for Articles

Databases for Chemistry
American Chemical Society Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://pubs.acs.org/about.html
  
This database indexes full-text journals from the American Chemical Society. [more]

Analytical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.rsc.org/Publishing/CurrentAwareness/AA/AASearchPage.cfm
  
Analytical Abstracts indexes worldwide literature on analytical chemistry. It covers application of analytical techniques, including the use of computers and instruments in general, inorganic, organic, biochemical, food, agricultural and environmental chemistry. Records are indexed by the substance being determined, the material being analyzed, and techniques and applications. [more]

CHEMID
http://chem.sis.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/
  
Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]

Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/ecc/
  
ECC contains over 300 articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short Definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated Articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry. [more]

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/eros
  
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis is a reference source for reagents used in organic synthesis which for each reagent includes uses and characteristics, examples of use, physical data, solubility, preparative methods and literature references. [more]

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?SpaceID=10093&BookID=735
  
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology contains data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other key properties. [more]

Materials Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa2.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=materials
  
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.rsc.org/is/journals/j1.htm
  
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals provides full-text coverage (including archives) of many of the Royal Society of Chemistry journals. [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scirus
http://www.scirus.com
  
A web search engine optimized for scientific content. Target preprints, scientist or company homepages, patents, or conferences. However, subscriptions or credit card payments are required to view much of the journal content. From Elsevier Scientific Publishing. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?SpaceID=10093&BookID=736
  
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is broad in scope. It is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. [more]

Journals

Journals for Chemistry
Browse Journals on Chemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=chem
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Chemistry
Chemical Properties Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=49
  
Health related, safety, environmental, physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties of both organic and inorganic chemicals. Most tables contain live formulas to permit easy calculation and plotting of the properties. Part of Knovel. [more]

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
  
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/9780471238966/home/
  
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a comprehensive reference source for applied chemical science and industrial technology. [more]

Knovel Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/library/Show_Books.jsp?SubjectAreaID=50
  
Knovel Books is a collection of e-books in chemistry and chemical engineering. [more]

Knovel Critical Tables Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?SpaceID=10093&BookID=761
  
Knovel Critical Tables contains properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. [more]

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (15th ed) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=47
  
Facts, figures, tables and formulas on the properties of approximately 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Part of Knovel. [more]

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (7th ed) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=48
  
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (7th ed) is a user's guide and databook which examines every aspect - science, technology, engineering, properties, design, processing, and applications - of the continuing development and use of polypropylene. [more]

Science of Synthesis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.science-of-synthesis.com
  
Provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]

Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/stasa
  
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations is a searchable, online resource providing over 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology, coveirng such subjects as chemical symbols, scientific associations and societies, units of measure, and professional credentials. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog