Engineering Library & Technology Commons Engineering Library & Technology Commons Gateway MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Engineering : Chemical Engineering

Databases for Articles

Databases for Chemical Engineering
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, provides full text for over 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, geology, mathematics, mechanical engineering, and physics content going back as far as 1990. [more]

Compendex Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cdxb
  
The most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering information database in the world, with over 3 million summaries of journal articles and conference proceedings, and 200,000 new additions every year. As the result of a longterm and ongoing TQM program, quality and currency have been greatly enhanced in the database, and its indexing has been cited as being of benchmarking quality. Compendex and its print predecessor, Engineering Index, have been a cornerstone in engineering, worldwide. [more]

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=envclust-set-c
  
Abstracts and citations covering environmental sciences are drawn from over 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. [more]

Materials Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa2.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=materials
  
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Chemical Engineering
Browse Journals on Chemical Engineering Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=eng.chem
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Chemical Engineering
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/9780471238966/home/
  
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a comprehensive reference source for applied chemical science and industrial technology. [more]

Knovel Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/library/Show_Books.jsp?SubjectAreaID=50
  
Knovel Books is a collection of e-books in chemistry and chemical engineering. [more]

Knovel Critical Tables Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?SpaceID=10093&BookID=761
  
Knovel Critical Tables contains properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog