Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Business & Economics : Business

Core Resources

The resources listed are intended to get you started with your research.  Please contact me (that's my picture on the left) with questions by clicking on either my photo or my name.

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases for Business
ABI/Inform Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE3MjErMysxNkJD&clientId=45247
  
ABI/Inform is the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry. [more]

Business and Company Resource Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=BCRC
  
Includes company financial reports, market share data, product lines, company histories, and industry overviews, in addition to magazine articles from 1980-date. [more]

Business Source Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=buh
  
As the world’s largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Search for articles about a given company, industry, or country. Also includes SWOT analyses for many companies, plus market research reports for different industries. [more]

EDGAR
http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/companysearch.html
  
EDGAR provides full-text copies of filings/reports for all Securities & Exchange Commission-registered companies. Included are 10-K reports (annual report filed with the SEC), 10-Qs, proxy statements or DEF 14As, and 20-Fs (annual reports of foreign companies whose stock trades in the U.S.). Coverage is 1990s to present. [more]

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?xsid=S003Wvj0XNyMTZyMTApMDAqNDAvNXmm5DFHY96oYqZlNFFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB
  
Formerly known as Dow Jones Interactive. Browse the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and other leading newspapers, magazines and newswires through the Business Newsstand; search over 6000 publications through the Publications Library; or view company, industry, country or market research reports. Please disconnect by using the EXIT button in the upper left when finished. [more]

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL
  
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]

Hospitality and Tourism Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hoh
  
Hospitality and Tourism Index covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more. [more]

International Financial Statistics (IFS) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.imfstatistics.org
  
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a database provided by the International Monetary Fund. It offers approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, 1948 - present (data availability may vary by country and date). It includes exchange rates, fund accounts and main global and country economic indicators. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic
  
Access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information from Lexis-Nexis. To be used only for educational purposes. [more]

Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive Manuals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://webreports.mergent.com
  

RedBooks.com Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.redbooks.com
  
RedBooks.com competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of nearly 13,500 US and international advertising agencies as well as information on over 24,000 US and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. [more]

Regional Business News Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=bwh
  
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.netadvantage.standardandpoors.com/NASApp/NetAdvantage/index.do
  
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector allocations. [more]

Tax Analysts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://services.taxanalysts.com/Login
  
Tax Analysts, a non-profit organization, creates daily publications to educate tax professionals regarding state, federal, and international tax law. Includes IRS regulations, rulings, and publications, over 100,000 case decisions, and legislative history regarding federal tax changes back to 1981. Use this resource to read the daily edition of Tax Notes Today. [more]

Journals

Journals for Business
Browse Journals on Business Administration Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=bus
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Business
Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog