Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : History : History of the British Empire

Core Resources

Sources for study of the history of the British Empire, with emphasis on the 1776-1976 period

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases for History of the British Empire
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Broad database indexing recent (1980's and later) scholarly journals and some magazines across many subject areas. Includes full text of recent (2000's) articles from many of the journals listed in the "Journals" section of this subject guide. [more]

ARTStor Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.artstor.org
  
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. [more]

British Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
British Periodicals is an index that covers important 19th-century British magazines and journals from the late 18th century to 1900. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This database is a conglomeration of cross-searchable indexes. Sections relevant to British history are the indexes to the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, the London Times, the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, British Periodicals and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. [more]

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL
  
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]

Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia
  
References cover the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life), including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. [more]

InfoTrac World History Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=SPJ.SP12
  
This collections covers leading journals in the field of world history, including Australian Aboriginal Studies, China Review International, Historical Studies, Journal of African History, Latino Leaders and more. Access provided by MOREnet.

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

Oxford Companion to British History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t110&subject=s11
  

Journals

Journals for History of the British Empire
Tips for finding journals and journal articles

  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
African Affairs Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&title=african+affairs&searchtype=browse
  

African Research and Documentation Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&title=african+research+and+documentation&searchtype=browse
  

Albion Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=albion&searchtype=browse
  

American Historical Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=american+historical+review&searchtype=browse
  

Also Known as: AHR

Asian Affairs Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=asian+affairs&searchtype=exact&year=&x=28&y=6
  

Australian Historical Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=australian+historical+studies&searchtype=browse
  

Australian Journal of Politics and History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=australian+journal+of+politics+and+history&searchtype=exact&x=32&y=8
  

Balkan Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=balkan+studies&searchtype=browse
  

British Journal for the History of Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0007-0874+&searchtype=browse
  

British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=british+journal+of+middle+eastern+studies&searchtype=browse
  

Comparative Studies in Society and History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0010-4175&searchtype=browse
  

Diplomacy and Statescraft Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=diplomacy+and+statecraft&searchtype=exact&x=13&y=4
  

Economic History Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0013-0117+&searchtype=browse
  

ELH Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=elh&searchtype=browse
  

Also Known as: A Journal of English Literary History

English Historical Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=english+historical+review&searchtype=browse
  

Historian Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=historian&searchtype=exact
  

Historical Journal Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=historical+journal&searchtype=exact&x=66&y=5
  

History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=history&searchtype=exact
  

history of education Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=history+of+education&searchtype=exact&year=&x=60&y=11
  

History Today Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=history+today&searchtype=exact&x=44&y=14
  

Indian Economic and Social History Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=indian+economic+and+social+history+review&searchtype=browse&year=&x=0&y=0
  

International Affairs: A Russian Journal of World Politics, Diplomary and International Relations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&title=international+affairs+a+russian+journal+of+world+politics+diplomacy+and+international+relations&x=0&y=0&searchtype=browse
  

International History Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0707-5332+&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of British Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=journal+of+british+studies&searchtype=browse&year=&x=0&y=0
  

Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=1532-5768+&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of Economic History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=Journal+of+economic+history&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of Historical Geography Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=journal+of+historical+geography&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0308-6534+&searchtype=browse
  
The history of the British Empire is the chief topic of this journal.

Journal of Southern African Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0305-7070+&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of the Malaysian Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0126-7353+&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of the Royal Australian Historical Society Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0035-8762&searchtype=browse
  

Journal of the Society for Army Historical Research Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0037-9700+&searchtype=browse
  

Middle Eastern Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=middle+eastern+studies&searchtype=browse
  

Modern Asian Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=modern+asian+studies&searchtype=browse
  

New Zealand Journal of History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0028-8322+&searchtype=browse
  

Past and Present Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0031-2746+&searchtype=browse&x=14&y=9
  

Quarterly Review of Historical Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0033-5800+&searchtype=browse
  

Radical History Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=radical+history+review&searchtype=browse
  

Round Table Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=round+table&searchtype=browse&year=&x=0&y=0
  

Slavery and Abolition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=0144-039X+&searchtype=browse
  

Also Known as: Slavery and Abolition: A Journal of Slave and Post-Slave Studies

South Asia Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=south+asia&searchtype=exact&year=&x=35&y=6
  

Victorian Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=victorian+studies&searchtype=browse
  

Women's History Review Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?data=thin.mulibraries&provider=&tableName=&rft_val_fmt=&title=womens+history+review&searchtype=browse
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for History of the British Empire
British Archives Research Guides A-Z
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/researchguidesindex.asp
  
Guides to doing archival research on hundreds of topics related to British History. Some primary sources referenced in the guides are available online and do not require travel.

British Library Microform Research Collections
http://www.bl.uk/services/document/microrescoll/microrescoll.html
  
At this site you may browse a list of the extensive and wide-ranging microform research collections from the British Library. These documents may be obtained through ILL@MU.

Eighteenth-Century Resources
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/18th/
  

Images of Empire
http://www.imagesofempire.com
  
Images of Empire from the British Empire and Commonwealth Museum is the largest dedicated online resource of still and moving images on the British colonial period. Registration is required in order to use images, and licenses are required to use images without watermarks. Descriptions and background information on images is extensive. [more]

Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
http://www.ncse.ac.uk/index.html
  

Also Known as: NCSE; Monthly Repository; Unitarian Chronicle; Northern Star; Leader; English Woman's Journal; Tomahawk; Publishers' Circular
[more]

Public Information Films from the National Archives (British)
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/films/view_all_films.htm
  
[more]

Zotero
http://www.zotero.org/
  
Free, easy-to-use Firefox downloadable software that collects, organizes, manages, stores, and outputs citations in various formats.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for History of the British Empire
Dictionary of Political Biography Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t85&subject=s11
  
[more]

Dictionary of World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t48&subject=s11
  
[more]

Digital South Asia Library
http://dsal.uchicago.edu/index.html
  
[more]

Encyclopedia of India Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684315126&contentSegment=9780684315126
  
[more]

Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684314969&contentSegment=9780684314969
  
[more]

Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684314976&contentSegment=9780684314976
  
[more]

Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684314235&contentSegment=9780684314235
  
[more]

History of World Trade Since 1450 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028660707&contentSegment=9780028660707
  
[more]

Imperialism: A Study, by John Atkinson Hobson
http://books.google.com/books?id=bl0k_ZjcWZ8C&dq=intitle:imperialism+inauthor:hobson&lr=&as_brr=0&source=gbs_summary_s&cad=0
  
[more]

Kings and Queens of Britain Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t44&subject=s11
  
[more]

Oxford Companion to World Exploration Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t230&subject=s11
  
[more]

Oxford Companion to World War II Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t129&subject=s11
  

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t248&subject=s11
  

The European Library
http://search.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/en/index.html
  
The European Library searches the content of European national libraries, including digital collections from member libraries. [more]

Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780684314532&contentSegment=9780684314532
  

Dictionaries
Dictionary of British History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t43&subject=s11
  
[more]

Oxford Companion to Black British History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t240&subject=s11
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog