Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Social Sciences : Black Studies

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases for Black Studies
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

Ageline
http://research.aarp.org/ageline
  
Interdisciplinary coverage of aging and middle age, including psychological, economic, sociological, business, medical, public policy, and consumer perspectives. [more]

America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
  
America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/cwldlive/
  
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE0NEQ@&clientId=45247
  
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]

AnthroSource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.anthrosource.net
  
AnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals. [more]

Google Scholar CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htm
  
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://hsus.cambridge.org
  
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]

Human Relations Area File Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ehrafWorldCultures.yale.edu
  
Human Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

LION: Literature Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com
  
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
  
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]

Journals

Journals for Black Studies
Selected Black Periodicals
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/blackstudies/selectedperiodicals.htm
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Black Studies
African American Almanac Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787691400&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314297&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EVAN&s_startsearch=customized
  
Based on the historic "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by the "Supplement to Evans American Bibliography" by Roger Bristol, the collection includes all titles contained in the Evans microform editions - more than 36,000 items published in 17th and 18th century America and over 2.3 million images. [more]

Encyclopedia of African American Society Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781412925402&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Encyclopedia of Black Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781412914307&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Who's Who Among African Americans Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405193&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog