Health & Medicine : Biomedical Informatics
For descriptions of individual NCBI databases, see the Other Resources Online tab.Databases for Articles
- Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
More Databases for Articles...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Biomedical Informatics
AAMI Standards Search
Also Known as: Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Standards Search; AAMI Database
Search the Association for Advancement of Medical Instrumentation database for books, reports, final and draft standards available for sale from AAMI. Also includes information about active ISO, IEC and AAMI standards projects and other technical committee news. [more]
The most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering information database in the world, with over 3 million summaries of journal articles and conference proceedings, and 200,000 new additions every year. As the result of a longterm and ongoing TQM program, quality and currency have been greatly enhanced in the database, and its indexing has been cited as being of benchmarking quality. Compendex and its print predecessor, Engineering Index, have been a cornerstone in engineering, worldwide. [more]
A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories.
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI
Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]
IEEE Xplore contains full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, and conference proceedings since 1988. [more]
IHS (ASTM) Specs & Standards
From the American Society of Testing Materials, this is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering medical devices, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and metals. Links to fulltext are available for ASTM documents; standards from other agencies are available for purchase. [more]
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Also Known as: Materials Science
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database
Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]
NSSN Standards Search
A central portal for searching for standards information from many organizations, including the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the International Standards Organization (ISO), the National Committee for Information Technology Standards, the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE), and more. From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). [more]
A catalog of publications from the U.S. National Technical Information Service. The premier resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. Various classification systems enhance subject retrieval. Material can also be searched by corporate source, patent number and CAS registry number. Use the ORDER button to request the corresponding fulltext documents. [more]
ProQuest Technology Collection
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection
Locate articles, patents, and other material in a variety of technology related fields, including informatics, computer science, electronics, aerospace and space science. [more]
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Safari Tech Books Online
Provides full-text access to over 9,000 books online covering technology, digital media and business. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
Scopus PMID Cited Reference Search
Also Known as: PMID pubmed citation index search
Enter a PMID (PubMed Identifier) number to find times cited information in Scopus. PMIDs can be copied and pasted from UpToDate, AccessMedicine, and other online textbooks. Scopus includes cited references primarily for articles published after 1996. [more]
Scopus: Recent MU Faculty Publications
Also Known as: Scopus MU authors
View the 2000 most recent articles by MU researchers added to the Scopus database. The page may take up to a minute to load.
WIPO World Intelllectual Property Organization PCT Patents Database
Part of the WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library. Search and retrieve fulltext for WIPO PCT patent applications published as PCT pamphlets since January 1997, and where applicable, republished since April 1998. Bibliographic data, abstracts, drawings and images of PCT pamphlets are provided for all published and republished international applications in the collection. To search the entire collection rather than only the current week, be sure and select ALL weeks To retrieve a patent by number, search the PUBLICATION NUMBER (e.g. WO 2004/019554). search only the number with punctuation and spaces removed (e.g. 2004019954). [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Biomedical Informatics
AMIA - American Medical Informatics Association
AMIA is a professional organization for biomedical and health informatics. AMIA promotes the effective organization, analysis, management, and use of information in health care in support of patient care, public health, teaching, research, administration, and related policy.
MU Informatics Institute
Also Known as: MUII
Building on a tradition of outstanding informatics education and research at Missouri, the MU Informatics Institute is a joint research and education program supported by various departments of the School of Medicine, College of Engineering, and the Bond Life Sciences Center. The Institute offers concentrations in bioinformatics and health informatics. Each concentration stresses the skill sets and research appropriate for the subfield within the broad area of informatics.
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)
Also Known as: BLAST
The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) compares gene and protein sequences against others in public databases. Specialized BLASTs are also available for human, microbial, malaria, and other genomes, as well as for vector contamination, immunoglobulins, and tentative human consensus sequences.
Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP)
Also Known as: CGAP
The Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) aims to decipher the molecular anatomy of cancer cells. CGAP develops profiles of cancer cells by comparing gene expression in normal, precancerous, and malignant cells from a wide variety of tissues.
Cn3D is a helper application for your web browser that allows you to view 3-dimensional structures from NCBI's Entrez retrieval service. Cn3D runs on Windows, Macintosh, and Unix.
Entrez Gene - each Entrez Gene record encapsulates a wide range of information for a given gene and organism. When possible, the information includes results of analyses that have been done on the sequence data. The amount and type of information presented depend on what is available for a particular gene and organism and can include: (1) graphic summary of the genomic context, intron/exon structure, and flanking genes, (2) link to a graphic view of the mRNA sequence, which in turn shows biological features such as CDS, SNPs, etc., (3) links to gene ontology and phenotypic information, (4) links to corresponding protein sequence data and conserved domains, (5) links to related resources, such as mutation databases.
Entrez Genomes - whole genomes of over 1000 organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. All three main domains of life - bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota - are represented, as well as many viruses, phages, viroids, plasmids, and organelles.. Entrez Genomes provides graphical overviews of complete genomes/chromosomes and the ability to explore regions of interest in progressively greater detail.
Human Genome Resources Guide
Provides overview and access to available genome resource databases provided by NCBI(National Center for Biotechnology Information). Databases include Entrez, OMIM,Sagemap ,GeneMapand Locus Link.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Also Known as: NCBI
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.
Viral Genotyping Tool
Viral Genotyping Tool: a web-based program that identifies the genotype (or subtype) of recombinant or non-recombinant viral nucleotide sequences. It works by using BLAST to compare a query sequence to a set of reference sequences for known genotypes. Predefined reference genotypes exist for three major viral pathogens: human immunodeficiency virus 1 (HIV-1), hepatitis C virus (HCV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV), as well as for poliovirus. User-defined reference sequences can be used at the same time. The query sequence is broken into segments for comparison to the reference so that the mosaic organization of recombinant sequences is revealed. The results are displayed graphically using color-coded genotypes. Therefore, the genotype(s) of any portion of the query can quickly be determined.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Biomedical Informatics
Tips for finding books
Biomedical Devices Handbook