Biology: Articles and E-journals
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37 (1926 - date)
- Academic Search Premier
Index to over 8000 journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date. Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
- AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. Coverage is 1970 to date. Earlier years available in print as the Bibliography of Agriculture: Ellis Library Reference Z 5073 .U572 (1942-1992)
- BioOne
BioOne provides full-text access to over 60 biological science journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers. Titles include American Midland Naturalist, Bioscience and Biotropica .
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Abstracts and citations covering environmental sciences are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Coverage is from 1967 to date.
- MEDLINE
MEDLINE covers international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,600 journals published worldwide. Coverage is 1966 to date.
- NTIS
The NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. Coverage is 1964 to date.
- PubMed
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature.
- SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service or CAS) contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature (1907 to date), patents, and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Continually updated. Available via downloadable client software or by the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address.
- Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
E-JOURNALS
E-PRINTS
- E-Print Network
U.S. government gateway to over 12,000 web sites worldwide containing e-prints in basic and applied sciences including biology, chemistry and physics.
Last Updated: 8/16/08