Science & Technology : Biology

Core Resources

Additional resoruces for Biology can be found at: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/subjects/biology/default.htm.

Databases for Articles
  • Biological Abstracts- Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology.
  • Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record Combined
  • MEDLINE (Ovid)- MEDLINE provides accesss to international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
  • PubMed- Index to the medical literature. Also provides access and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases.
  • Scopus- Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.

    More Databases for Articles...

Databases for Articles

Databases for Biology
Biological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=b9az
  
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]

Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record Combined Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&NEWS=n&PAGE=main&D=zoor,b9az
  
Biological Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information. [more]

BioOne Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.bioone.org
  
provides full-text access to over 80 bioscience journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers. [more]

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=bioone-set-c
  

Also Known as: BAID
Search and link to complete articles for 65 journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. [more]

Birds of North America Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://bna.birds.cornell.edu
  
Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]

BMC Proceedings
http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcproc/
  
Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]

CABDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://217.154.120.06/CABDIRECT/select-database.nsp
  

Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI
Comprehensive international coverage of agriculture and veterinary sciences. Includes all items listed in Index Veterinarius, Animal Breeding Abstracts, Dairy Science Abstracts, Global Health, and 23 other abstracts journals covering all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Links to fulltext are available for some recent articles. NOTE: to search older literature 1900-1972, mark both CAB ABSTRACTS and CAB ABSTRACTS ARCHIVE before beginning to search. [more]

Faculty of 1000 (Biology) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.f1000biology.com
  
An online literature awareness service that highlights and reviews the most interesting published papers in the biological sciences based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading reseachers. After reading the article review, use Findit@MU to locate the original article. To see which papers by Local MU authors have been selected/reviewed, use this link. [more]

Fish and Fisheries Worldwide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ffw
  
Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. Major topics include culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, general research, and fisheries management. The database includes, FISHLIT (1985-date), Fisheries Review (1971-date), Fish Subset of Medline (1966-date), Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database, Fish Database (1960-date), Castell's Nutrition References (1970-date), AQUACULTURE (1970-1984), Fish Health News (1978-1985). [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
MEDLINE provides accesss to international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. [more]

Plant Management Network
http://www.plantmanagementnetwork.org
  
Plant Management Network provides access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources and related information. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com
  
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to all live journals published by Elsevier; online book series and discontinued journals are not included. The publisher specializes in life science, physical science, and engineering. There are over 1,600 journals included in the trial, of which more than 1,100 are new to this campus. More than 200 of these new journals have impact factors equal to or greater than 2. [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scirus
http://www.scirus.com
  
A web search engine optimized for scientific content. Target preprints, scientist or company homepages, patents, or conferences. However, subscriptions or credit card payments are required to view much of the journal content. From Elsevier Scientific Publishing. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fzh
  
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. [more]

Zoological Record Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=zoor
  

Also Known as: ZooRecord
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. [more]

Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Combined Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&NEWS=n&PAGE=main&D=zoor,b8az
  
Search articles from over 5000 journals, plus conference proceedings and books covered every aspect of zoology. If you'd like to cover both Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record in one search, use this link. [more]

Journals

Journals for Biology
Browse Journals on Biological Sciences Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=bio
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Biology
MU Authors Papers Selected for Faculty of 1000 Biology
http://www.facultyof1000.com/search/results.asp?drpField1=[AD]&txtSearch1=missouri columbia&drpPhrase1=and&drpField2=[TI]&txtSearch2=&drpPhrase2=and&drpField3=[AU]&txtSearch3=&drpPhrase3=and&drpField4=[TA]&txtSearch4=&drpPhrase4=exact&chkBMCJournals=&chkT
  
See which papers by MU authors have been selected as among the most interesting or significant published in the biological sciences literature in Faculty of 1000 Biology.

National Center for Biotechnology Information ( NCBI )
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
  
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.

eBooks / Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog