Science & Technology : Biochemistry

Core Resources

Additional resources for Biochemistry can be found at: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/subjects/biochemistry/

Databases for Articles
  • Biological Abstracts- Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology.
  • PubMed- Index to the medical literature. Also provides access and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)- A comprehensive database of chemical literature including patents and the CAS Registry with information on over 18 million substances. 1907-date with selected coverage back to 1878.
  • Scopus- Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.

    More Databases for Articles...

Databases for Articles

Databases for Biochemistry
American Chemical Society Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://pubs.acs.org/about.html
  
This database indexes full-text journals from the American Chemical Society. [more]

Biological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=b9az
  
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]

Faculty of 1000 (Biology) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.f1000biology.com
  
An online literature awareness service that highlights and reviews the most interesting published papers in the biological sciences based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading reseachers. After reading the article review, use Findit@MU to locate the original article. To see which papers by Local MU authors have been selected/reviewed, use this link. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.rsc.org/is/journals/j1.htm
  
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals provides full-text coverage (including archives) of many of the Royal Society of Chemistry journals. [more]

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com
  
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to all live journals published by Elsevier; online book series and discontinued journals are not included. The publisher specializes in life science, physical science, and engineering. There are over 1,600 journals included in the trial, of which more than 1,100 are new to this campus. More than 200 of these new journals have impact factors equal to or greater than 2. [more]

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/scifinder.htm
  

Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Installation is required to use the program from other on campus computers. To use from off campus, MU affiliates must set up a VPN Virtual Private Network before installing the software. [more]

Scirus
http://www.scirus.com
  
A web search engine optimized for scientific content. Target preprints, scientist or company homepages, patents, or conferences. However, subscriptions or credit card payments are required to view much of the journal content. From Elsevier Scientific Publishing. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Biochemistry
Browse Journals on Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=bio.biochem
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Biochemistry
HEAL - Health Education Assets Library
http://www.healcentral.org/
  
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.

MU Authors Papers Selected for Faculty of 1000 Biology
http://www.facultyof1000.com/search/results.asp?drpField1=[AD]&txtSearch1=missouri columbia&drpPhrase1=and&drpField2=[TI]&txtSearch2=&drpPhrase2=and&drpField3=[AU]&txtSearch3=&drpPhrase3=and&drpField4=[TA]&txtSearch4=&drpPhrase4=exact&chkBMCJournals=&chkT
  
See which papers by MU authors have been selected as among the most interesting or significant published in the biological sciences literature in Faculty of 1000 Biology.

National Center for Biotechnology Information ( NCBI )
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
  
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Biochemistry
AccessMedicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
  
Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.

Biochemistry - NLM
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=stryer.TOC&depth=10
  
5th edition. Sometimes referred to as Stryer's Biochemistry.

Chemical Properties Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=49
  
Health related, safety, environmental, physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties of both organic and inorganic chemicals. Most tables contain live formulas to permit easy calculation and plotting of the properties. Part of Knovel. [more]

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
  
[more]

CSH Protocols
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.cshprotocols.org
  
A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories.

Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=18
  

Also Known as: Harper's Biochemistry

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/9780471238966/home/
  
[more]

LANGE Educational Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/lange.aspx
  
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper's Biochemistry, Ganong's Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (15th ed) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=47
  
Facts, figures, tables and formulas on the properties of approximately 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Part of Knovel. [more]

Molecular Biology of the Cell
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=cell.TOC&depth=10
  
4th edition.

Science of Synthesis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.science-of-synthesis.com
  
Provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog