Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : Art & Art History

Core Resources

These pages are intended to help undergraduates find their way to basic resources.
If you need more help, contact me or ask for assistance at the Reference Desk in Ellis Library.
Use the tabs at the top to find more information.

Art Full Text - not everything is full-text. Good for contemporary artists and exhibitions.
ARTStor  - go here for images
Avery Index - architecture, gardens, interior decoration
Bibliography of the History of Art  - scholarly journals
Camio - another place for images
JSTOR - a full-text archive of scholarly journals.

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases for Art & Art History
Art Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aft
  
Art Index citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]

International Bibliography of Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=iba-set-c
  
Also Known as: IBAIBA indexes scholarly literature on western art. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. [more]

Bibliography of the History of Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://library.getty.edu/bha
  
Also Known as: BHABibliography of the History of Art covers the current literature of European art from the 4th century to the present, and of North and South American art from the European discovery of the Americas to the present. [more]

Avery Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=avery-set-c
  
Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

ARTStor Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.artstor.org
  
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. [more]

CAMIO Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://camio.oclc.org
  
Also Known as: Catalog of Art Museum Images OnlineCAMIO offers art images that are rights-cleared for educational use. There are about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media. [more]

Journals

Journals for Art & Art History
Browse Journals on Art History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=art.arthist
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Art & Art History
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t3&subject=s1
  

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t4&subject=s1
  

Dictionary of Art
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b3094148~S1&searchscope=0
  
34 volumes covering art worldwide. Excellent place to start. Will give you a good overview and provide you with an bibliography if you need more information. Covers artists, artistic styles and movements. Also has excellent articles on art of individual countries.

Dictionary of Modern Design Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t160&subject=s1
  

Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t5&subject=s1
  

Fine Arts: A bibliographic guide to basic research works, histories, and handbooks
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/record=b2296105~S1&searchscope=0
  

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t231&subject=s1
  

Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t220&subject=s1
  

Oxford Companion to Archaeology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t136
  

Oxford Companion to the Garden Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t215&subject=s1
  

Oxford Companion to the Photograph Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t207&subject=s1
  

Oxford Companion to Western Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t118&subject=s1
  

Oxford Dictionary of Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t2&subject=s1
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog