Architectural Studies: Background Information
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- Design Encyclopedia
Ellis Library Reference NK 1370 .B93 1994
- Elements of Style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details from 1485 to the Present
Ellis Library Reference NA 2850 .E445 2005
- Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades and Techniques
Ellis Library Reference NK 2205 .E34 2000
- Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Ellis Library Reference NK 1165 .E48 1997
- Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Ellis Library Reference NA 680 .E495 2004 (3 volumes)
- Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
Ellis Library Reference NA 208 .E53 1997 (3 volumes)
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Ellis Library Reference NK 28 .G76 2006 (2 volumes)
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
- Interior Design Sourcebooks: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Interior Design
Ellis Library Reference NK 1705 .L49 1998
NCIDQ REFERENCE LIST
Below are the titles that NCIDQ (the National Council for Interior Design Qualification) has selected for its reference list. There are a few titles which MU Libraries do not own. These may be obtained through interlibrary loan.
- Americans with Disabilities Act Facilities Compliance Workbook
Ellis Library Reference NA 2545 .A1 .A46 1992 Note: contains ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities. These guidelines are also available in the Federal Register July 26, 1991 pg. 35605 (Ellis Library Documents Reference AE 2.106)
- American National Standards Institute. Specifications for making buildings and facilities accessible to and usable by physically handicapped people, A117.1 (1980) . Ellis Library NA 2545 .P5 .A512 1980
- Environmental Protection Agency Standards and Practices Consult the Code of Federal Regulations Protection on the Environment (CFR 40) Ellis Library Documents Reference AE 2.106/3
- Ballast, David. Interior Construction & Detailing for Designers & Architects. 1994
Ellis Library Reference TH 2025.B35 1994
- Barr, Wilma and Charles Broudy. Time Saver Details for Store Planning and Design. 1995 Book is out of print, Request on Interlibrary Loan.
- Barr, Vilma and Field, Katherine. Stores: Retail Display and Design. 1997
Ellis Library Reference HF 5845 .B337 1997
- Berger, C. Jaye. Interior Design Law and Business Practices. 1994
Ellis Library Reference KF 2930 .I58 .B47 1994
- Black, Henry Campbell. Black's Law Dictionary
Ellis Library Reference KF 156 .B53 1999
- Ching, Francis D. K. Architecture: Form, Space and Order. 1996
Ellis LIbrary Reference NA 2760 .C46 1996
- Ching, Francis D. K. Building Construction Illustrated. 1991
Ellis Library Reference TH 146 .C52 2001
- Ching, Francis D. K. Interior Design Illustrated. 1987
Ellis Library Reference NA 2850 .C45 1987
- DeChiara, Joseph, Julius Panero, and Martin Zelnik. Time Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning. 1991 Ellis Library Reference NK 2110 .T48 2001
- Farren, Carole E. Planning and Managing Interior Projects. 2000
Ellis Library Reference NK 2116 .F371 1999
- Gordon, Gary. Interior Lighting for Environmental Designers. 1995
Ellis Library Reference TK 4175.G67 2003
- Hall, Edward T. The Hidden Dimension. 1969
Ellis Library Reference BF 469 .H3
- Harrigan, J.E. Human Factors Research: Methods and Applications for Architects and Interior Designers . Ellis Library Reference NA 2542.4 .H3 1987
- Hoke, John Ray; Ramsey, Charles George; and Sleeper, Harold R. Architectural Graphic Standards. 2000 Ellis Library Reference TH 2031 .R35 2000
- Jackman, Diane and Mary Dixon. The Guide to Textiles for Interior Designers. 1990
Ellis Library Reference TS 1767 .J33 1990
- Karlen, Mark. Space Planning Basics. 1997 (paperback edition)
Ellis Library Reference NA 2765 .K37 1993
- Kilmer, Rosemary and Kilmer, W. Otie. Designing Interiors. 1997 (paperback edition)
Ellis Library Reference NK 2110 .K45 1992
- Knackstedt, Mary V. and Haney, Laura J. The Interior Design Business Handbook. 1992
Ellis Library Reference NK 2002 .K57 1992
- Koomen-Harmen, Sharon. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors. 1994
Ellis Library Reference KF 5701 .H37 2001
- Larsen, Jack Lenor and Weeks, Jeanne. Fabrics for Interiors: A Guide to Architects, Designers and Consumers . 1975 Ellis Library Reference TS 1767 .L37
- McGowan, MaryRose and Kruse, Kelsey. Interior Graphic Standards. 2003
Ellis Library Reference TH 2031 .M34 2003
- Mitton, Maureen. Interior Design Visual Presentation: a guide to graphics, Models, and Presentation Techniques. 1999
Ellis Library Reference NK 2113.5 .M58 2004
- Null, Roberta L., editor, Universal Design: Creative Solutions for ADA Compliance. 1996
Ellis Library Reference NA 2545 .P5N85 1996
- Panero, Julius and Martin Zelnick. Human Dimension and Interior Space. 1979
Ellis Library Reference NA 2542.4 .P356 1979
- Pile, John. Interior Design. 1995
Ellis Library Reference NK 2110 .P55 2003
- Piotrowski, Christine M. Professional Practice for Interior Designers. 1997 (2 nd revised edition)
Ellis Library Reference NK 2116 .2 .P57 2002
- Piotrowski, Christine M. Interior Design Management: a Handbook for Owners and Managers. 1997 (paperback edition) Ellis Library Reference NK 2116.2 .P56 1992
- Piotrowski, Christine M. and Rogers, Elizabeth A. Designing Commercial Interiors. 1998
Ellis Library Reference NK 2195 .C65P56 2007
- Rayfield, Julie K. The Office Interior Design Guide: An Introduction for Facilities Managers and Designers. 1997 (paperback edition)
Ellis Library Reference NK 2195 .O4R38 1994
- Reznikoff, S. C. Specifications for Commercial Interiors. 1989
Ellis Library Reference TH 4311 .R485 1989
- Riggs, Rosemary. Materials and Components of Interior Architecture. 1998
Ellis Library Reference TA 403 .R525 1999
- Stein, Ben M., Frederick H. Reynolds, and William McGuiness. Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings. 1992
Ellis Library Reference TH 6010 .S74 2000
WEBSITES